Gibney joins AMPAS board of governors

We Steal Secrets director Alex Gibney (pictured) joins Michael Apted and Rob Epstein as a governor of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' documentary branch, as Michael Moore steps down.
July 15, 2013

We Steal Secrets director Alex Gibney (pictured) is among 10 first-time inductees to have been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ (AMPAS) board of governors.

Gibney, who won an Academy Award in 2008 for his doc Taxi to the Dark Side, has been elected as a governor of AMPAS’s documentary branch. He will serve alongside doc branch governors Michael Apted (56 Up) and Rob Epstein (The Battle of Amfar), who were not up for re-election.

The news sees Michael Moore (Bowling for Columbine) stepping down as an AMPAS governor, having served on the board since 2010. Across all branches, this year’s election has increased the Academy’s overall governing body from 43 to 48.

The 86th Academy Awards, honoring the best films of 2013, will take place in Hollywood on March 2, 2014.

About The Author
Barry Walsh is editor and content director for realscreen, and has served as editor of the publication since 2009. With a career in entertainment media that spans two decades, prior to realscreen, he held the associate editor post for now defunct sister publication Boards, which focused on the advertising and commercial production industries. Before Boards, he served as editor of Canadian Music Network, a weekly music industry trade, and as music editor for As content director, he also oversees the development of content for the brand's market-leading events, the Realscreen Summit and Realscreen West, as well as new content initiatives.