SXSW ’14: “Vessel,” “DamNation” win audience awards

Vessel (pictured), DamNation and The Case Against 8 are among the audience award winners at the 2014 SXSW Film Festival.
March 17, 2014

Documentaries Vessel (pictured), DamNation and The Case Against 8 are among the audience award winners at this year’s SXSW Film Festival.

Vessel, directed by first-time filmmaker Diana Whitten, won the audience award in the Documentary Feature Competition category. The film profiles Dutch physician Rebecca Gomperts, who sails around the world providing safe abortions for women with no legal alternative aboard a ship in international waters.

The film previously won a Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage during the Austin, Texas-based festival.

In the Documentary Spotlight category, directors Ben Knight and Travis Rummel’s look at big American dams,  DamNation, picked up the audience award; and directors Ben Cotner and Ryan White’s doc about the case to overturn a same-sex marriage ban in California, The Case Against 8, won the audience award in the Festival Favorites category.

Festival organizers announced the audience award winners on Sunday (March 16), the final day of the 10-day music, film and interactive event. The audience award in the SXGlobal category will be announced today (March 17).

Last week, Margaret Brown’s The Great Invisible, which examines the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill, won the Grand Jury prize in the Documentary Feature Competition. Luis Lopez and Clay Tweel’s 3D printing doc Print the Legend picked up a Special Jury Recognition for editing & storytelling.

About The Author
Selina Chignall joins the realscreen team as a staff writer. Prior to working with rs, she covered lobbying activity at Hill Times Publishing. She also spent a year covering the Hill as a journalist with iPolitics. Her beat focused on youth, education, democratic reform, innovation and infrastructure. She holds a Master of Arts in Journalism from Western University and a Honours Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto.