Glassman, McMullan win DOC Institute awards

Marc Glassman (pictured, left) and Chelsea McMullan (right) were honored at the second annual DOC Institute Awards, held at Toronto's Gladstone Hotel.
December 11, 2015

Marc Glassman (pictured, left) and Chelsea McMullan (right) both picked up honorary awards at the second annual DOC Institute Awards ceremony, held Thursday night at Toronto’s Gladstone Hotel.

Glassman received the Rogers-DOC Luminary Award, a recognition of outstanding support and mentorship within the Canadian doc-making field, while McMullan won the DOC Vanguard Award, which recognizes emerging or mid-career documentarians with the potential to lead the next generation.

As the first film programmer for the Hot Docs International Documentary Festival and Reel Canada, Glassman is also an arts journalist, editor, film programmer, adjunct professor at Ryerson University’s Documentary Media program and editor of Canadian doc publication POV Magazine.

marc glassman awardsUpon accepting the prize, Glassman (pictured, right) dedicated the award to late documentarian Peter Wintonick, with whom he worked at POV.

“In my mind, Peter Wintonick will always be the guiding light,” said Glassman.

McMullan is a doc-maker whose work has screened at the Toronto International Film Festival, Sundance and the New York Photography Festival. Her debut feature, My Prairie Home, is a music doc about gender-neutral singer/songwriter Rae Spoon, while her second feature Shannon Michael Shannon John screened at Vancouver International Film Festival.

McMullan told the audience that being a young filmmaker was “a little scary right now” but noted the climate also allowed for greater risk-taking in documentary.

“Take risks in both content and form because we have nothing to lose,” said the director.

The DOC Institute is an initiative of the Documentary Organization of Canada, Toronto Chapter which develops and leads programs for doc-makers. The winners are selected by a jury from nominations submitted by the 650-member Documentary Organization of Canada. Elizabeth Klinck and Brett Story were the recipients of last year’s awards.

(From Playback Daily, with files from Manori Ravindran)

About The Author
Senior staff writer Frederick Blichert comes to realscreen with a background as a journalist and freelance film critic. He has previously written for VICE, Paste Magazine, Senses of Cinema, Xtra, Canadian Cinematographer and elsewhere. He holds a Master of Arts in film studies from Carleton University and a Master of Journalism from the University of British Columbia.