Docs

Sundance ’18 unveils panels and off-screen events line up

The 2018 Sundance Film Festival has finalized its panels and off-screen events schedule ahead its launch next week in Park City, Utah. The 10-day festival will feature intersectional conversations on gender ...
January 12, 2018

The 2018 Sundance Film Festival has finalized its panels and off-screen events schedule ahead its launch next week in Park City, Utah.

The 10-day festival will feature intersectional conversations on gender and diversity representation, power dynamics and bias in media, as well as behind-the-scenes panels on the art of filmmaking.

Anchoring the Utah-set festival’s documentary installments is the ‘Art of Film Weekend’ series (Jan. 26-28). Unearthing the Past – Art of Film Weekend will convene non-fiction filmmakers to discuss their innovative approaches through archive materials to craft artful representations of the past while re-contextualizing the present.

Featured in the discussion will be A Thousand Thoughts director Joe Bini, 306 Hollywood filmmakers Elan and Jonathan BogarínBisbee ’17 helmer Robert GreeneOur New President director Sierra Pettengil, and Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind filmmaker Marina Zenovich.

Alissa Wilkinson of Vox will moderate the Jan. 27 panel discussion.

The Sundance Institute Film Music Program will also present a one-night only performance by Joan Jett and The Blackhearts. The Jan. 20 event, ‘A Celebration of Music and Film’, will be part of a celebration of Kevin Kerslake’s biography on Jett, Bad Reputation (pictured), which world premieres on Jan. 22.

Other noteworthy conversations at Sundance include the Cinema Café daily series of informal chats, which this year includes conversations with Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Nina Totenberg; will.i.am and Kevin Smith; Danny Elfman and Gus Van Sant; Ira Glass and Miranda July; and Ethan Hawke and Rupert Everett.

Further information on all off-screen events and panels can be found by visiting the Sundance Film Festival website.

The 2018 Sundance Film Festival takes place Jan. 18 to Jan. 28 in Park City, Utah.

Power of Story: Culture Shift 
Jan. 19, 11 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. MT / 2 p.m. ET

At a watershed moment in which America grapples with gender, race, and the complex nature of systemic change, an illustrious group of artists: Ava DuVernay (A Wrinkle in Time), Patrick Gaspard (president of the Open Society Foundations),Issa Rae (Insecure), Megan Smith (3rd U.S. Chief Technology Officer and Former Assistant to President Barack Obama), and Christine Vachon (An Evening with Todd Haynes) talk with Washington Post journalist Sarah Ellison about their work, the power of media, and the role creative choices play in shifting culture and crystallizing the national conversation. How do storytellers transform not only the arts media fields but society at large? What’s at stake in terms of the stories we tell and who tells them, and how will these decisions shape our future?

Brave New Story 

Jan. 20, 1:15 p.m. PT / 2:15 p.m. MT / 4:15 p.m. ET

As our society finds itself in increasingly entrenched positions, the relevance of radical storytelling can’t be overstated. Recognizing the power of art to reveal, artists are searching for new stories and new ways of telling them. They’re demanding more of the form, questioning how it’s used to describe the world, looking at images and representation, subverting dominant narratives and traditional ways of seeing, and discovering a new political cinema. Join Reinaldo Marcus Green (Monsters and Men), RaMell Ross (Hale County This Morning,This Evening), Brett Story (The Prison In Twelve Landscapes), Lynette Wallworth (Awavena), and others.

A Celebration of Music and Film
Jan. 20, 6-9 p.m. PT / 7-10 p.m. MT / 9 p.m.-midnight ET

This year’s rendition of the Festival’s premier music event presents an evening with Rock & Roll Hall-of-Famer Joan Jett. In celebration of the documentary premiere for Bad Reputation, Joan Jett & the Blackhearts will take the stage at The Shop in Park City for one night only. Jett has been a trailblazer for women in the music industry, from her glam rock anthems with The Runaways to her pioneering punk performances with the Blackhearts. A beacon for multiple generations of rock musicians, Jett is not to be missed in concert.

Cinema Cafe with Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Nina Totenberg (NPR)
Jan. 21, 10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT / 1:30 p.m. ET

The New Climate 
Jan. 23, 1:30 p.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. MT / 4:30 p.m. ET

The impact of climate change has been felt dramatically by Native communities in the U.S. and around the world. Despite poisoned resources, corporatism, and an existential threat to their homelands, these vulnerable communities rarely fall under the spotlight, and their stories go untold. This special New Climate discussion welcomes  Bartholemew Powaukee, Environmental and Water Quality Director for Utah’s Ute Tribe; Anote Tong, former president of the disappearing island of Kiribati; Tashka Yawanawá, chief of the Yawanawá; moderator Janaya Khan of Black Lives Matter, Canada and others to deconstruct histories and mythologies around climate change, discuss how story and technology can share a hidden point of view, and reveal creative initiatives to combat current trends by changing minds.

Producer’s Confidential  — ART OF FILM WEEKEND
Jan. 26, 1 p.m. PT / 2 p.m MT / 4 p.m. ET

In today’s challenging marketplace, creative producers are well served by an expansive knowledge of audience building, marketing, and distribution strategy. With Columbus and Unrest, recipients of Sundance Institute’s inaugural Creative Distribution Fellowship, we examine two films that emerged from the 2017 Sundance Film Festival and chose to bypass all-rights distributors. Danielle Renfrew Behrens(Columbus), Jennifer Brea (UNREST), Giulia Caruso (Columbus), Lindsey Dryden(UNREST), Alysa Nahmias (UNREST), and moderator Chris Horton (Sundance Institute) present case studies on getting your work seen.

Unearthing the Past  — ART OF FILM WEEKEND
Jan. 27, 1 p.m. PT / 2 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET

Nonfiction filmmakers are employing increasingly innovative approaches in order to visually and artfully engage with the past. Through creative uses of archival footage, personal- and biographical-storytelling filmmakers are excavating the past in order to re-contextualize the present and interrogate notions of truth. Join Joe Bini (A Thousand Thoughts), Elan Bogarin (306 Hollywood), Jonathan Bogarin (306 Hollywood), Robert Greene (Bisbee ’17), Sierra Pettengil (Our New President), Marina Zenovich (Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind) and moderator Alissa Wilkinson (Vox.com).

 

About The Author
Senior staff writer Frederick Blichert comes to realscreen with a background as a journalist and freelance film critic. He has previously written for VICE, Paste Magazine, Senses of Cinema, Xtra, Canadian Cinematographer and elsewhere. He holds a Master of Arts in film studies from Carleton University and a Master of Journalism from the University of British Columbia.

Menu

Search