AIB honors “Meltdown,” “Flying Monsters 3D”

The Association for International Broadcasting also handed out awards to NHK, the BBC and DR for non-fiction programming. (Pictured: Meltdown: The Secret History of the Global Financial Crisis)
November 14, 2011

The Association for International Broadcasting (AIB) handed out its annual awards last week in London, with several non-fiction programs honored.

Among the winners was the four-hour doc series Meltdown: the Secret History of the Global Financial Collapse (pictured), produced by CBC/Radio-Canada and named best business program. Also honored was NHK’s Surviving the Tsunami, which was awarded as best current affairs documentary – domestic.

Denmark’s DR was honored in the best investigative documentary – TV category, for The Man Who Lied the World into War; while True Vision, UK received the best current affairs documentary – international accolade for Zimbabwe’s Forgotten Children.

BSkyB’s Flying Monsters 3D was named best science program, while its host, Sir David Attenborough, also received an honor as international TV personality of the year.

Other non-fiction honorees at the ceremony and highly commended programs in certain categories included the following:

Best current affairs documentary – Middle East

BBC, UK for Panorama: Fighting Gaddafi

AIB Founders Award

SRF, Switzerland for Two Women, One Journey

Highly commended non-fiction programs:

BBC Arabic, UK for Revolution Diary (current affairs documentary – Middle East)

Current TV, UK for Gail Porter on Prostitution (current affairs documentary – domestic)

Al Jazeera English, Qatar for On a Wing and a Prayer (investigative documentary –TV)

Channel NewsAsia, Mediacorp, Singapore for Unbroken Faith (investigative documentary – TV)

Antena 3, Romania for The Poison in Our Homes (investigative documentary – TV)

BSkyB, UK for Ross Kemp: Extreme World (current affairs documentary – international)

Channel 4, UK for Dispatches: The Battle for Haiti (current affairs documentary –international)

About The Author