Sheffield Doc/Fest introduces award for best female director

Organizers of this year's festival have unveiled the full list of films that will compete for awards in six categories and one new guest category: Best Female-Director Film, an award presented by the Alliance of Women Film Journalists.
June 6, 2012

The organizers of Sheffield Doc/Fest have unveiled this year’s list of films that will compete for awards in six categories and one new guest category, as well as the winner of the Inspiration Award.

This year’s Inspiration Award, given to a filmmaker that has excelled in the field of documentary, will go to British director Penny Woolcock, whose latest film From The Sea To The Land Beyond forms part of Sheffield’s opening night live event.

The six main awards categories are the Special Jury Award, the Sheffield Innovation Award, the Sheffield Green Award, the Sheffield Youth Jury Award, the Student Doc Award and the Sheffield Doc/Fest Audience Award. For the first time, the Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ) will also present an award for the Best Female-Director Film.

Films that will compete for the Special Jury Prize are Alison Klayman’s Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, Malika Zouhali-Worrall and Katherine Fairfax-Wright’s Call Me Kuchu, James Kent’s Chopin Saved My Life, Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami’s Going Up The Stairs, Matthew Akers’ Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present, Michael Palmieri and Donal Mosher’s Off Label, Gentian Koçi’s Not A Carwash, Marius Markevicius’ The Other Dream Team, and Sean McAllister’s The Reluctant Revolutionary.

The docs up for the Sheffield Innovation Award are Leanne Allison and Jeremy Mendes’ Bear 71, Morgan Matthews’ Britain In A Day, Bill Morrison’s The Miners’ Hymns, Question Bridge: Black Males, Victor Kossakovsky’s ¡Vivan Las Antipodas! and Michael Grigsby’s We Went to War.

The films nominated for the Sheffield Green Award are Alan Ereira’s Aluna, Philip Agland’s Baka: A Cry From The Rainforest, Jeff Orlowski’s Chasing Ice, Mark Kitchell’s A Fierce Green, Jon Shenk’s The Island President and Michael Christoffersen and Hans la Cour’s Law Of The Jungle.

The titles vying for the Sheffield Youth Jury Award are Lisanne Pajot and James Swirsky’s Indie Game: The Movie, Macky Alston’s Love Free Or Die, Ross McElwee’s Photographic Memory, Jerry Rothwell’s Town Of Runners and Brian Knapperberger’s We Are Legion: The Story Of The Hacktivists.

The Sheffield Student Doc Award nominees are Karen Winther’s The Betrayal, Hnin Ei Hlaing’s Burmese Butterfly, Ed Emsley’s Fabalous, Jim Smith’s No Regrets, Josh Bamford and Sebastian Feehan’s Mostar, Albina Griniute’s A Place We Call Home, Chloe White’s This Life That Chose Me, and Ferdinand Haberl’s The War Next Door.

The nominees for the Best Female-Director Film Award are Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, Call Me Kuchu, Up The Stairs, Indie Game: The Movie, The Betrayal, Karen Guthrie and Nina Pope’s Jaywick Escapes, Lindsey Dryden’s Lost and Sound, Mareike Wegener’s Mark Lombardi: Death Defying Acts of Art and Conspiracy, Penny Woolcock’s One Mile Away, Catherine Scott’s Scarlet Road, Lucy Walker’s The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom, Pietra Brettkelly’s Maori Boy Genius, Christy Garland’s The Bastard Sings the Sweetest Song and Lise Birk Pedersen’s Putin’s Kiss.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held on June 17.

About The Author