“Watermark,” “Dragon’s Den” among CSA winners

Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky's documentary Watermark (pictured) and CBC series Dragon's Den picked up statuettes during the Canadian Screen Awards galas in Toronto.
March 10, 2014

Directors Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky’s Watermark (pictured) won the Best Feature-Length Documentary prize at the Canadian Screen Awards on Sunday (March 9).

The film, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival and previously won the Toronto Film Critics Association’s Best Canadian Film Award, explores the ways humanity has shaped, manipulated and depleted water.

The Best Reality/Competition Program or Series award went to CBC’s Dragon’s Den; Anne Wheeler’s Chi; won the Best Short Documentary award; and the Best Cross-Platform Project – Non-Fiction went to Secret Location for The Amazing Race Canada Interactive.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television’s (ACCT) second annual Canadian Screen Awards took place in Toronto over the past week, culminating in Sunday night’s ceremony. The awards – a combination of what were previously the Genies and Geminis – include 123 categories in the film, television and digital fields.

Pubcaster TVO won the Best Documentary Program prize for Escape from North Korea; sports net TSN won Best Documentary Series honors for Engraved on a Nation; the Best Factual Program award went to History Channel Canada’s Museum Secrets; and the Best History or Biography Documentary Program or Series award went to History Channel Canada’s The Real Inglorious Bastards.

Other non-fiction winners included CBC Television’s CBC Music Presents: The Beetle Roadtrip Sesions won the Best Original Program or Series produced for Digital Media – Non-Fiction; CBC’s I Am Not A Rock Star won Best Performing Arts or Arts Documentary Program; and Food Network Canada’s You Gotta Eat Here won Best Lifestyle or Talk Program or Series.

Discovery Channel Canada picked up the Best Science or Nature Documentary Program or Series award for Aliens: The Definitive Guide; and TVO won the Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program for The People of the Kattawapiskak River.

For the complete list of winners, visit the Canadian Screen Awards website.

About The Author