“Cosmos,” “Shark Tank” nab Critics’ Choice TV Awards

Science series reboot Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey and business pitch series Shark Tank took home top reality honors at the fourth annual Critics' Choice Television Awards.
June 20, 2014

Science series reboot Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey and business pitch series Shark Tank took home top reality honors at the fourth annual Critics’ Choice Television Awards.

Overseen by the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA), the ceremony was held on Thursday and aired on U.S. broadcaster The CW.

Fox and National Geographic Channel’s Cosmos picked up awards for best reality series as well as best reality host for astrophysicist Neil DeGrasse Tyson.

Nominees in the reality series categories were Discovery Channel programs Deadliest Catch and Mythbusters, A&E’s Duck Dynasty, BBC America’s Top Gear and CBS’s Undercover Boss, while the nominated hosts included Tom Bergeron of ABC’s Dancing With the Stars, Carson Daly of The Voice, Cat Deeley of Fox’s So You Think You Can Dance, Gordon Ramsay of Fox’s MasterChef and RuPaul of Logo’s RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Meanwhile, the winner in the best reality competition category was ABC’s Shark Tank, which beat out CBS’s Survivor and The Amazing Race, Lifetime’s Project Runway and NBC’s The Voice.

About The Author