“Cosmos,” “Parts Unknown” lead non-fiction Emmy nominees

Fox and Nat Geo's science series reboot Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey (pictured) and CNN's Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown lead the non-fiction nominees for the 66th annual Primetime Emmy Awards, with 12 and six nominations respectively.
July 10, 2014

The Amazing RaceTop ChefDancing with the StarsProject RunwaySo You Think You Can Dance and The Voice will battle it out for the Outstanding Reality-Competition Program prize at the 66th annual Primetime Emmy Awards.

The news comes as the full list of nominees was unveiled this morning (July 10), ahead of the Seth Meyers-hosted awards ceremony itself, which will air live on NBC on August 25.

The top non-fiction series leading nominations was Fox and Nat Geo’s science series reboot Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey (pictured), which picked up 12 nominations in categories including short-format non-fiction program, documentary or non-fiction series, and both writing and directing for non-fiction programming, while CNN’s Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown nabbed six nominations, including outstanding informational series or special, writing and cinematography.

This year’s awards include two new reality categories as a result of a decision by the Television Academy earlier this year to halve the Outstanding Reality Program category into “structured” and “unstructured” programs, in order to recognize the different trends in narrative reality programming.

Nominees in the Unstructured Reality Program category include Alaska: The Last Frontier (Discovery), Deadliest Catch (Discovery), Flipping Out (Bravo), Million Dollar Listing New York (Bravo), Wahlburgers (A&E) and Wild Things With Dominic Monaghan (BBC America).

Meanwhile, series nominated for the structured group are Antiques Roadshow (PBS), MythBusters (Discovery), Shark Tank (ABC), Diners, Drive-Ins And Dives (Food Network), Who Do You Think You Are? (TLC) and Undercover Boss (CBS).

the squareIn the Outstanding Documentary Or Nonfiction Special category, PBS’s ‘American Experience’ doc JFK earned a nomination, alongside OWN’s Running From Crazy, CNN’s The Sixties: The Assassination of President Kennedy, Netflix’s The Square (pictured, left), and HBO’s docs Paycheck To Paycheck: The Life and Times of Katrina Gilbert and Whoopi Goldberg Presents Moms Mabley

The Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Series category, meanwhile, saw nominations given to History’s The World Wars; Showtime’s Years Of Living Dangerously; and PBS’s ‘American Masters’ in addition to Fox and Nat Geo’s Cosmos: A Space-Time Odyssey.

Elsewhere, the nominees for Outstanding Host For a Reality or Reality-Competition Program include Betty White of Betty White’s Off Their Rockers (NBC), Tom Bergeron of Dancing With The Stars(ABC), Jane Lynch of Hollywood Game Night (NBC), Heidi Klum and Tim Gunn of Project Runway(Lifetime) and Anthony Bourdain of The Taste (ABC).

Finally, the Outstanding Informational Series or Special category consists of familiar entry Inside The Actors Studio (Bravo) and the previously mentioned Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN), in addition to Through The Wormhole With Morgan Freeman (Science Channel), Vice (HBO) and The Writers’ Room (Sundance).

Please see below for a list of more non-fiction and reality nominees:

Outstanding Short-Format Nonfiction Program

Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee (

COSMOS: A National Geographic Deeper Dive

I Was There: Boston Marathon Bombings

Jay Leno’s Garage

Park Bench With Steve Buscemi

30 For 30 Shorts

Outstanding Narrator

Game Of Lions (Nat Geo WILD)
Jeremy Irons, Narrator

One Life (Nat Geo WILD)
Daniel Craig, Narrator

Penguins: Waddle All The Way (Discovery Channel)
Jane Lynch, Narrator

Too Cute! Holiday Special (Animal Planet)
Henry Strozier, Narrator

Whoopi Goldberg Presents Moms Mabley (HBO)
Whoopi Goldberg, Narrator

Exceptional Merit In Documentary Filmmaking

The Amish: Shunned (American Experience) (PBS)

Brave Miss World

Hillsborough (30 For 30 Soccer Stories)

Life According To Sam

Outstanding Writing For Nonfiction Programming

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – “Congo” (CNN)
Anthony Bourdain

COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey – “Standing Up In The Milky Way” (FOX/NatGeo)
Ann Druyan, Steven Soter

JFK (American Experience) (PBS)
Mark Zwonitzer

The World Wars – “Trial By Fire” (History)
Stephen David, David C. White, John Ealer, Alec Michod, Chelsea Coates, Randy Counsman, Russ McCarroll, Jordan Rosenblum, Writer David Schaye

Years Of Living Dangerously – “The Surge” (Showtime)
Adam Bolt

Outstanding Directing For Nonfiction Programming

The Amazing Race – “Part Like The Red Sea” (CBS)
Bertram van Munster

COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey - “Standing Up In The Milky Way” (FOX/NatGeo)
Brannon Braga

Project Runway - “Sky’s The Limit” (Lifetime)
Craig Spirko

Shark Tank – “Episode 501″ (ABC)
Ken Fuchs

The Square (Netflix)
Jehane Noujaim

Outstanding Art Direction For Variety, Nonfiction, Reality or Reality-Competition Program

COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey – “Hiding In The Light,” “The Lost Worlds Of Planet Earth,” “Unafraid Of The Dark” (FOX/NatGeo)
Derek McLane, Production Designer; Joe Celli, Gloria Lamb, Art Directors

Portlandia – “Celery,” “Sharing Finances,” “3D Printer” (IFC)
Tyler Robinson, Production Designer; Schuyler Telleen, Art Director; Katherine Isom, Set Decorator

Saturday Night Live – For Episodes with Jimmy Fallon, Jonah Hill, Anna Kendrick (NBC)
Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, N. Joseph DeTullio, Production Designers

Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games Opening Ceremony (NBC)
George Tsypin, Production Designer; Rob Bissinger, Art Director

The Voice – Episodes 601, 516A, 607 (NBC)
Anton Goss, James Pearse Connelly, Production Designers; Zeya Maurer, Lydia Smyth, Art Directors; Kristen O’Malley, Set Decorator

Outstanding Cinematography For Nonfiction Programming

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – “Tokyo” (CNN)
Morgan Fallon, Director of Photography

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – “Punjab” (CNN)
Todd Liebler, Zach Zamboni, Directors of Photography

COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey – “Standing Up In The Milky Way” (FOX/NatGeo)
Bill Pope, ASC, Director of Photography

The Square (Netflix)
Cinematography Team

Vice - “Greenland Is Melting/Bonded Labor” (HBO)
Jake Burghart, Jerry Ricciotti, Directors of Photography

Outstanding Cinematography For Reality Programming

Alaska: The Last Frontier - “Of Moose And Men” (Discovery Channel)
Brian Mandle, Director of Photography; Scott Gardner, Neil Moore, David Short, John Whittier, Camera

The Amazing Race - “Part Like The Red Sea” (CBS)
Cinematography Team

Deadliest Catch - “Careful What You Wish For”
Cinematography Team

Project Runway - “Tie The Knot” (Lifetime)
Gus Dominguez, Director of Photography

Survivor – “Mad Treasure Hunt (Cagayan)” (CBS)
Cinematography Team

The Voice – Episode 601 (NBC)
Alex Van Wagner, Cinematography

  • For the complete list of nominees, please click here.
  • By Manori Ravindran and Adam Benzine
About The Author