“Amazing Race” picks up 10th Primetime Emmy

CBS's The Amazing Race (pictured) returned to form with its 10th win in the reality-competition program at the 65th annual Primetime Emmy Awards on Monday night (August 25).
August 26, 2014

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences awarded CBS’s The Amazing Race (pictured) its 10th win in the reality-competition program at the 65th annual Primetime Emmy Awards on Monday night (August 25).

The World Race Productions-made series has topped the category from 2003 – when the category was added to the telecast – to 2009, only losing in 2010 to Top Chef (Bravo) and in 2013 to The Voice (NBC).

This year, The Amazing Race reclaimed top honors, beating out fellow nominees Top Chef, The VoiceDancing with the Stars (ABC), Project Runway (Lifetime) and So You Think You Can Dance (Fox).

Accepting the award for the show was executive producer and series co-creator Bertram van Munster, who was joined onstage by most of his team and long-time series host Phil Keoghan.

In the non-fiction realm, The Amazing Race joins Creative Arts Emmy Award winners Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey (Fox/Nat Geo), Deadliest Catch (Discovery) and documentary The Square (Netflix), which led the non-fiction and reality award recipients during the August 16 telecast.

About The Author
Jillian Morgan is a special reports editor at realscreen with a background in journalism and digital marketing. She joined the publication in 2019 after serving as the assistant editor to trade publications HPAC and On-Site. With a bachelor of journalism from the University of King's College in Halifax, she also works as a freelance writer and fact-checker.