“Invisible War,” “Crash Reel” among doc Emmy winners

Director Kirby Dick's The Invisible War (pictured) won two awards for PBS and ITVS doc strand 'Independent Lens' at this year's News and Documentary Emmy Awards.
October 1, 2014

Kirby Dick’s The Invisible War (pictured) and Lucy Walker’s The Crash Reel are among the documentary winners at the 35th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, which were handed out in New York City last night (September 30).

The Invisible War picked up two awards for the PBS and ITVS doc strand ‘Independent Lens’: best documentary and outstanding investigative journalism – long form. The strand also won the outstanding editing: documentary and long form award for the doc Detropia and editor Enat Sidi.

In all, PBS took home 11 awards making it the most-awarded network this year (followed by CBS with 10).

Other PBS winners were the doc series The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross with Henry Louis Gates, Jr., which won outstanding historical programming; and Angad Singh Bhalla’s doc Herman’s House, which picked up outstanding arts & culture programming honors for doc strand ‘POV.’

Premium cable net HBO won two awards. The Crash Reel snagged the Emmy for outstanding informational programming – long form; while Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer composer Simon Russell and sound editor Chris Bertolotti won the outstanding music and sound prize.

Other factual winners were National Geographic Channel’s Chasing Ice for outstanding nature programming; National Geographic Wild’s One Life for outstanding cinematography: documentary and long form; Investigation Discovery’s A Crime To Remember for outstanding lighting direction and scenic design; and Discovery Channel’s ‘Shark Week 2013′ strand for outstanding promotional announcement – institutional.

The interactive doc winners were the National Film Board of Canada and The New York Times Op-Docs’ A Short History of the Highrise in the new approaches: arts, lifestyle and culture category; and NPR’s Planet Money Makes a T-Shirt in the new approaches: documentaries category.

For the complete list of this year’s winners, visit the Emmy website.

About The Author