“Look of Silence,” “E-Team” win at CPH:DOX

Joshua Oppenheimer's The Look of Silence and Katy Chevigny and Ross Kaufmann's E-Team (pictured) are among the prize-winners at Danish documentary festival CPH:DOX.
November 17, 2014

Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Look of Silence and Katy Chevigny and Ross Kaufmann’s E-Team (pictured) are among the prize-winners at the Danish documentary festival CPH:DOX.

The Copenhagen-based event – which just concluded its 12th edition - honors both Danish and international documentaries, and offers six prizes including the DOX:Award, Nordic:DOX award, F:ACT award, New:Vision award, Politikens audience award and the Reel Talent award. The prizes were handed out at a ceremony on Friday (November 14) at the city’s D’Angleterre hotel.

Oppenheimer’s follow-up to The Act of Killing picked up the DOX:Award, which is given to the year’s best international doc, while a special mention went to Camilla Nielsson’s doc on the 2008 Zimbabwe elections, Democrats.

The jury – which included David Wilson, Kidlat Tahimik, Laurence Reymond, Lilibeth Cuenca and Nelly Ben Hayoun – noted that, “for the main award our debate was impassioned, clearly heated and even fiery. Our final decision was not unanimous, but perhaps that is fitting for a film that melds provocation with aesthetic brilliance.”

Meanwhile, the F:ACT award – a prize for in-depth journalism in documentary work that was introduced last year – went to E-Team, which follows a group of human rights activists working in Syria and Libya.

The Nordic:DOX award for best Nordic documentary was given to Lea Glob and Petra Costa’s hyrbid doc Olmo & the Seagull, which follows an actress and her family throughout her pregnancy.

Elsewhere, Basim Magdy’s The Dent, an essay-style film about an anonymous city’s hope of hosting the Olympic Games, won the New:Vision award for artistic work pushing the medium’s boundaries.

The festival’s Reel Talent award – given to “a documentary film director who has shown exceptional filmic vision in one of their first films” – was shared between Olmo director Lea Glob and Camilla Nielsson for Democrats.

Finally, the Politikens audience award went to Grant Baldwin’s environmental doc Just Eat It: A Food Waste Story.

About The Author