Santa Barbara Film Fest to honor Laura Poitras

The Citizenfour director (pictured) is among the five recipients of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival's inaugural Outstanding Directors of the Year Award.
January 21, 2015

Citizenfour director Laura Poitras (pictured) is among the five filmmakers who will receive the Santa Barbara International Film Festival’s new Outstanding Directors of the Year Award.

In the past, organizers have given out a single director award and hosted a director’s panel. The 30th anniversary edition of the panel on February 4 will be expanded to include the award presentation.

The other directors to be honored are Whiplash‘s Damien Chazelle, Boyhood‘s Richard Linklater, Foxcatcher‘s Bennett Miller and The Imitation Game‘s Morten Tydlum, making Poitras the sole doc-maker to receive the prize.

This is the latest accolade for Poitras and her documentary about National Security Agency whistleblower Edward Snowden. The film was recently nominated for an Academy Award and a DGA Award, and swept the Cinema Eye Honors earlier this month.

About The Author