FRAPA bolsters board with four new members

ITV Studios' Mike Beale, Sony Pictures Television's Lisette van Diepen, Zodiak Media's Grant Ross (pictured) and Red Arrow Entertainment Group's Michael Schmidt have joined the format industry group's board.
April 2, 2015

The Amsterdam-based Format Recognition and Protection Association (FRAPA) has expanded its general board with four new members.

The new members are ITV Studios EVP of global development and formats Mike Beale, Sony Pictures Television’s VP of acquisitions Lisette van Diepen, Zodiak Media’s EVP of global creative development and format acquisition Grant Ross (pictured) and Red Arrow Entertainment Group’s chief creative officer Michael Schmidt.

The additions are part of the trade group’s expansion, restructuring and rebranding in response to the growth of the television format business and comes after the appointment of Phil Gurin and Jan Salling as FRAPA’s new co-chairs last month.

“Mike, Lisette, Grant and Michael bring to FRAPA a depth of experience and a knowledge of the global formats business that will be invaluable to us as we move into the next phase of our development,” Gurin said in a statement.

Other changes include the appointment of K7 Media managing director Keri Lewis Brown to the management board. She replaces UFA Show & Factual CEO Ute Biernat who has been named as a lifetime FRAPA ambassador. Biernat has worked with FRAPA for 15 years and spent seven as chair.

The FRAPA management board members are Gurin, Salling, Lewis Brown and FRAPA co-founder David Lyle.

Beale, Van Diepen, Ross and Schmidt will work alongside FRAPA’s general board members: Prensario Internacional director Nicolas Smirnoff and Star China International Media chief representative and deputy general manager Vivian Yin.

About The Author