DOC NYC reveals doc opener, Lifetime Achievement recipients

The DOC NYC festival will this year open with its second annual Visionaries tribute honoring Jon Alpert, Barbara Kopple and Frederick Wiseman, followed by the opening night film, Kopple's Miss Sharon Jones! (pictured).
August 27, 2015

DOC NYC will this year open with Barbara Kopple‘s Miss Sharon Jones! and present Lifetime Achievement awards to Kopple, Frederick Wiseman and Jon Alpert.

The sixth annual edition of the New York festival – which runs from November 12 to 19 – kicks off on opening day with its second annual Visionaries Tribute, where Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to the trio of documentarians.

Alpert has directed such documentaries as One Year in the Life of Crime, Baghdad ER, and the Oscar-nominated shorts Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province and Redemption. He is also the co-founder of New York’s Downtown Community Television (DCTV).

Meanwhile, Kopple is a two-time Oscar winner for her films Harlan County USA and American Dream, while Frederick Wiseman has directed 40 films, including his critically acclaimed Titicut Follies (1967) and Law and Order (1969), and more recently, National Gallery (2014) and In Jackson Heights (2015).

Last year’s Lifetime Achievement recipients were Albert Maysles, DA Pennebaker and Chris Hegedus.

In addition, the Visionaries Tribute will hand out two other awards at the fall event. The Robert and Anne Drew Award for a mid-career filmmaker working in observational cinema will again be handed out, along with the Leading Light Award, which goes to a mid-career professional who has “shown exemplary service to documentary in a role other than filmmaking.”

Meanwhile, opening night will feature a screening at Chelsea’s SVA Theatre of Kopple’s latest, Miss Sharon Jones!, which follows the soul performer as she fights cancer and looks to make a come-back with her band, The Dap-Kings.

The host committee for this year’s Visionaries Tribute includes such documentarians as Amy Berg, Joe Berlinger, Marshall Curry, Michael Moore, Morgan Neville and Laura Poitras, among others.

The complete lineup for DOC NYC is to be announced mid-October.

About The Author