“Cartel Land,” “Wolfpack” grab Cinema Eye nominations

Cartel Land (pictured), The Wolfpack, Amy, The Look of Silence and Listen to Me Marlon are among 38 feature docs nominated for the Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking.
November 12, 2015

Cartel Land (pictured), Matthew Heineman’s film about vigilante groups fighting Mexican drug gangs, and Crystal Moselle’s Sundance hit The Wolfpack are among the 38 documentaries nominated for the Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking.

Founded in 2007, the Cinema Eye organization recognizes the entire creative team behind a documentary, and presents craft awards in categories including directing, producing, cinematography and editing, among others. Nominees for the group’s feature awards are determined by a committee of international documentary programmers.

This year’s contenders for Outstanding Nonfiction Feature are Cartel LandThe Wolfpack; Asif Kapadia‘s doc on musician Amy Winehouse, Amy; Camilla Neilsson’s Democrats, on Zimbabwe’s democratic introduction of a new constitution; Stevan Riley’s Listen to Me Marlon, based on the legendary actor’s personal audio archive; and Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Look of Silence, about a man confronting the men responsible for killing his brother during the Indonesian massacre of the mid Sixties.

The Look of Silence, which received four nominations, and Cartel Land were the only films nominated for Outstanding Feature, Direction, Production and Cinematography.

Nominees for the directing prize include Matthew Heineman; Joshua Oppenheimer; Kim Longinotto for Dreamcatcher; Laurie Anderson for Heart of a Dog; Frederick Wiseman for In Jackson Heights; as well as the late Albert Maysles, Lynn True, Nelson Walker, David Usui and Ben Wu for In Transit.

Remaining nominees in the editing category are Chris King for Amy, Aaron Wickenden and Eileen Meyer for Best of Enemies, James Scott for How to Change the World, Brett Morgen and Joe Beshenkovsky for Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck and Stevan Riley for Listen to Me Marlon.

The cinematography nominees include Matthew Heineman and Matt Porwoll for Cartel Land; Lars Skree for The Look of Silence; Jimmy Chin and Renan Ozturk for Meru; Ewan McNicol for Uncertain; and Bill Ross and Turner Ross for Western.

The production nominees are Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin for Cartel Land; Henrik Veileborg for Democrats; Alex Gibney, Lawrence Wright and Kristen Vaurio for Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief; Signe Byrge Sørensen  for The Look of Silence; and Jimmy Chin, Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi and Shannon Etheridge for Meru.

Elsewhere, nominees for Cinema Eye’s Spotlight Award – which honors films that “have not yet received proper attention” and filmmakers on the rise – include Dan Rybicky and Aaron Wickenden’s Almost There, Ben Powell’s Barge, Khalik Allah’s Field Niggas, Alexandria Bombach and Mo Scarpelli’s Frame by Frame, Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe’s (T)error, and Alexandre Nanău’s Toto and His Sisters.

Meanwhile, nominees for the organization’s second honor for best nonfiction film for television are Alex Winter‘s Deep Web , Alex Gibney’s Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief, Dan Edge’s OutbreakCynthia Hill‘s Private Violence and Joe Berlinger‘s Whitey: The United States of America vs. James J. Bulger.

The 10 films up for the audience choice prize – which is open to the general public, who vote online – include AmyBest of Enemies, Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief, The Hunting Ground, Iris, Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck, Meru, What Happened, Miss Simone?, Where to Invade Next and The Wolfpack.

Nominees for outstanding achievement in nonfiction short filmmaking are: Fabian Kaiser’s The Breath; Scott Cummings’ Buffalo Juggalos; Adam Benzine’s Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah; Kitty Green’s The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul and Elizabeth Lo’s Hotel 22.

Winners of the Cinema Eye Honors will be announced on January 13 in New York at the Museum of the Moving Image.

A complete list of nominees is available here.

(With files from Manori Ravindran and Barry Walsh)

About The Author