“God Bless,” “Return of the Atom” win at CPH:DOX

Robert Machoian and Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck's God Bless the Child (pictured) and Mika Taanila and Jussi Eerola's Return of the Atom are among the prize-winning films at the 13th edition of the Danish doc festival.
November 16, 2015

Robert Machoian and Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck’s God Bless the Child (pictured) and Mika Taanila and Jussi Eerola’s Return of the Atom are among the prize-winning films at the 13th edition of Danish festival CPH:DOX.

God Bless the Child, a hybrid doc which follows five California children alone at home, took the Copenhagen-set festival’s DOX:Award for international documentaries.

In a statement, the jury said, “Establishing an otherworldly tone of extraordinary realism and a near magical evocation of family dynamics, the winning film reveals a mastery of observational rigor, and an uncanny willingness to expand the limits of documentary form.”

Ewan McNicol and Anna Sandilands’ Uncertain, on the titular town set between Louisiana and Texas, received a special mention.

The jury for the DOX:Award was comprised of Elena Fortes, director of non-profit organization Ambulante; Miguel Valverde, festival director and programmer at IndieLisboa; Jim Kolmar, film programmer for SXSW; Bernie Krause, musician and soundscape ecologist; and Katja Adomeit, producer and freelancer for Denmark’s Coproduction Office.

Meanwhile, winning the F:ACT Award, for films “on the edge between documentary and investigative journalism,” was Hemal Trivedi and Mohammed Ali Naqvi’s Among the Believers, while Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe‘s (T)ERROR received a special mention.

Elsewhere, Taanila and Eerola’s Return of the Atom - which enjoyed its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival in September – won the NORDIC:DOX Award for documentaries from the Nordic countries. A special mention was given to Ane Hjort Guttu’s Time Passes.

The NEW:VISION prize for experimental film was shared between Rosa Barba’s Bending to Earth and Ali Cherri’s The Digger.

Finally, David Sington’s The Fear of 13 bested nine other contenders to win the Politiken Audience Award, while Elvira Lund was presented the Reel Talent Award for promising directors who have shown “exceptional cinematic vision at an early stage.”

CPH:DOX ran from November 5 to 15. Awards were presented at a ceremony held on Friday (November 13).

About The Author