“Romanians,” “Oak Tree” among RTS Awards winners

The Romanians Are Coming (pictured), Oak Tree: Nature's Greatest Survivor and presenter Reggie Yates were among the non-fiction winners at the Royal Television Society's annual awards ceremony, held in London on Tuesday (March 22).
March 23, 2016

The Romanians Are Coming (pictured), Oak Tree: Nature’s Greatest Survivor and presenter Reggie Yates are among the non-fiction winners of this year’s Royal Television Society (RTS) awards.

The awards, which honor achievements in British television across all genres, including factual, documentary, daytime and science and natural history, were handed out during a ceremony in London on Tuesday night (March 22).

Among this year’s RTS awards recipients are Keo Films and Channel 4′s The Romanians Are Coming, which took home the award for documentary series; Furnace TV and BBC4′s Oak Tree: Nature’s Greatest Survivor, which picked up the science and natural history award; and Reggie Yates, who won best presenter for Sundog Pictures and BBC3′s Reggie Yates’ Extreme Russia.

ITV’s reality court series Judge Rinder claimed the honors for daytime programming; Spring Films and Angel TV’s Holocaust: Night Will Fall for Channel 4 was the winner in the history category; and BBC Features Production’s BBC1 series DIY SOS: Homes for Veterans topped the popular factual and features program.

Other winners included Gogglebox Entertainment’s ITV2 series Release the Hounds, which took the entertainment award, while Assassin Films’ BBC4 doc Storyville: India’s Daughter was awarded the best single documentary prize.

Meanwhile, popular presenting duo Ant and Dec claimed the entertainment performance prize for I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here!Britain’s Got Talent and Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway from ITV Studios; Thames and Syco; and ITV Studios and Mitre Television for ITV, respectively.

Finally, the Judges’ Award went to stand-up comedian, actor and television presenter Lenny Henry, while the Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to journalist and television presenter Joan Bakewell.

For the complete list of winners, visit the RTS website.

About The Author