TIFF shakes up Board of Directors

Four board members have retired, including board chair Lisa de Wilde (pictured), who will be replaced by long-time board member Jennifer Tory.
September 28, 2016

lisa de wildeThe Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) has announced changes to its board of directors, including five new appointments and four retirements.

Board Chair Lisa de Wilde (pictured) is stepping down from her post, having served as chair since 2013. She will be replaced by long-time board member Jennifer Tory, group head, personal and commercial banking at RBC.

Deepa Mehta will also retire from the board, having served her full tenure, as will Warren Spitz and Connie Sugiyama.

Meanwhile, documentary filmmaker Jennifer Baichwal will join the board of directors. Many of her films, including Manufactured Landscapes (2006) and Watermark (2013) have premiered at TIFF.

She’ll be joined by Frank Kollmar, CEO of L’Oreal Canada; Geoff Beattie, CEO of investment management company Generation Capital; Leslie Noble, a founder of StrategyCorp; and Jeffrey Remedios, president and CEO of Universal Music Canada.

The current TIFF board of directors members are Baichwal, Geoff Beattie, Helen Burstyn, Barry Campbell, Betty-Ann Heggie, Ellis Jacob, Frank Kollmar, Sabi Marwah, Chetan Mathur, Shabin Mohamed, Leslie Noble, Wade Oosterman, Geetu Pathak, Rod Phillips, Wayne Purboo, Jeffrey Remedios, Francis Shen and Mark Wellings.

 Tory is board chair, William Marshall is founder and chair emeritus, and Slawko Klymkiw is ex-officio.

From Playback

About The Author
Daniele Alcinii is a news editor at realscreen, the leading international publisher of non-fiction film and television industry news and content. He joined the RS team in 2015 with experience in journalism following a stint out west with Sun Media in Edmonton's Capital Region, and with communications work in Melbourne, Australia and Toronto. You can follow him on Twitter at @danielealcinii.