“Made in America,” “13th” take IDA Doc Awards

Ezra Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America and Ava DuVernay‘s The 13th were among the winners at the 32nd annual International Documentary Association IDA Documentary Awards. Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America (pictured) was the ...
December 10, 2016

Ezra Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America and Ava DuVernay‘s The 13th were among the winners at the 32nd annual International Documentary Association IDA Documentary Awards.

Edelman’s O.J.: Made in America (pictured) was the top winner at the awards banquet, nabbing the event’s top prize, the Best Feature Award,

Winning the ABC News VideoSource Award was Duvernay’s Netflix doc The 13th, while the Best Episodic Series Award went to Netflix’s Last Chance U. Elsewhere, Orlando von Einsiedel’s Syrian Civil War doc The White Helmets was feted with the Best Short Award, while the prize for Best Cinematography went to Gianfranco Rosi for his critically acclaimed Fire At Sea.

As previously reported, The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution helmer Stanley Nelson received the Career Achievement Award, while Norman and Lyn Lear were presented the IDA Amicus Award. Additionally, Ally Derks received the Pioneer Award in recognition of her work founding and building the International Documentary Festival of Amsterdam (IDFA), and director Nanfu Wang received the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

Hosted by actor Vivica A. Fox, the 2016 IDA Documentary Awards were handed out at an honors ceremony tonight (Dec. 9) at the Paramount Studios lot in Hollywood, California.

In addition to the winners, The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation awarded a four-year, US$5 million grant to the IDA to establish the IDA Documentary/Journalism Project.

According to the IDA, the program will “enable documentarians to report important stories more effectively; journalists to utilize film more artfully; and all who work in these fields to achieve their goals in greater safety and with greater impact.”

Submission information, funding criteria and more details will be announced in January 2017.

“Support for this new fund at IDA is an expression of the Foundation’s enduring commitment to independent media, and part of a broader set of investments aimed at building strong institutions in the fields of nonprofit journalism, nonfiction storytelling, and participatory civic media,” said Kathy Im, director of the Journalism and Media program at MacArthur, in a statement.

“Independent documentary makers play an essential role in contemporary journalism – uncovering, investigating and investing the time to follow a story. But too often they work with few resources and little support,” added Simon Kilmurry, executive director of the International Documentary Association, “With the support of the MacArthur Foundation, the IDA Documentary/Journalism Project will provide critical support to projects and a wealth of resources to the broader documentary field.” 

The 2016 award winners selected by members of the IDA are as follows:

Best Feature Award
O.J.: Made in America
Director: Ezra Edelman
Producers: Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Nina Krstic, Erin Leyden, Tamara Rosenberg, Connor Schell and Caroline Waterlow

Best Short Award
The White Helmets
Director: Orlando von Einsiedel
Producer: Joanna Natasegara

Best Curated Series Award
DR2 Dokumania
Executive Producer: Mette Hoffmann Meyer

Best Limited Series Award
Making a Murderer
Executive Producers: Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi

Best Episodic Series Award
Last Chance U
Executive Producers: Joe LaBracio, Dawn Ostroff, Lucas Smith, James Stern and Greg Whiteley

Best Short Form Series Award
Field of Vision
Executive Producers: Charlotte Cook, Laura Poitras and AJ Schnack

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
4.1 Miles
Director: Daphne Matziaraki

ABC News VideoSource Award
Director: Ava DuVernay

Pare Lorentz Award
Starless Dreams
Director: Mehrdad Oskouei

Best Cinematography
Fire at Sea
Cinematography by: Gianfranco Rosi

Best Editing
Edited by: Nels Bangerter

Best Writing
I Am Not Your Negro
James Baldwin material compiled and edited by Raoul Peck

Best Music
The Bad Kids
Original Score by: Jacaszek


Career Achievement Award
Stanley Nelson

Pioneer Award
Ally Derks

Amicus Award
Lyn and Norman Lear

Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award
Nanfu Wang

About The Author
Barry Walsh is editor and content director for realscreen, and has served as editor of the publication since 2009. With a career in entertainment media that spans two decades, prior to realscreen, he held the associate editor post for now defunct sister publication Boards, which focused on the advertising and commercial production industries. Before Boards, he served as editor of Canadian Music Network, a weekly music industry trade, and as music editor for As content director, he also oversees the development of content for the brand's market-leading events, the Realscreen Summit and Realscreen West, as well as new content initiatives.