Exclusive: NPACT adds members; unveils board of directors

Nonfiction producers’ trade group NPACT has unveiled its new-look board of directors and executive committee, as well as six production industry members. Of the six new members added, five consist of ...
November 2, 2017

Nonfiction producers’ trade group NPACT has unveiled its new-look board of directors and executive committee, as well as six production industry members.

Of the six new members added, five consist of production companies. They are: London-based indie Arrow Media; Singapore-based distribution agency and production company Bomanbridge Media; South Korean media contents company CJ E&M; Cupcake Wars producer Super Delicious; and Eat the World With Emeril Lagasse creator Ugly Brother Studios.

The one associate member joining NPACT is employer-of-record payroll and related services company Revolution Entertainment Services.

The additions lift the organization’s membership to a total of 90 production companies and 11 associate members, which are service providers to the unscripted industry, from across the globe.

New members joining the board of directors include Go Go Luckey Entertainment’s Julie Auerbach; GRB Entertainment’s Gary R. Benz; High Noon Entertainment’s Jim Berger; Punched Productions’ Amelia D’Entrone; T Group Productions’ Jenny Daly; Hot Snakes Media’s Eric Evangelista; Renegade David Garfinkle; Intellectual Property Corporation’s Eli Holzman; Truly Original’s Brenda Hurley and Steven Weinstock; Magilla Entertainment’s Laura Palumbo Johnson; Atlas Media’s Bruce David Klein; Lighthearted Entertainment’s Rob LaPlante; All3Media America’s Gregory Lipstone; Pact’s John McVay; ITV America’s Brent Montgomery; Bunim/Murray Productions’ Jonathan Murray; Propagate Content’s Howard T. Owens; Electus’ John Pollak; Endemol Shine North America’s Ben Samek; Anvil 1893′s Eric Schotz; Sharp Entertainment’s Matt Sharp; Optomen Productions’ Maria Silver; 51 Minds’ Temple Williams; and MY Entertainment’s Michael Yudin.

Nine of the above board members also comprise NPACT’s new executive committee. They are Jenny Daly, David Garfinkle, Eli Holzman, Laura Palumbo Johnson, Bruce David Klein, John McVay, Brent Montgomery, John Pollak, and Eric Schotz. 

NPACT’s new board of directors and executive committee reflects the larger organization that was created when the Nonfiction Producers Association (NPA) and PactUS merged in June to form NPACT. 

John Ford (pictured), who had served as general manager of the NPA since 2015, serves as general manager of NPACT. David Lyle, who had served since 2015 as president of PactUS, worked with NPACT as president emeritus before passing away in September following a long battle with cancer.

Lyle will be honored with a special Legacy Award at the forthcoming Realscreen Summit in Washington DC to celebrate his three-decade career in television and his vast contribution to unscripted entertainment.

“We’ve come a very long way in three short years in service of the talented, creative entrepreneurs who are the life force of the unscripted content business,” said Ford in a statement. “From eight founding member companies, NPACT has grown to include more than 100; we take great pride in being a voice for the nonfiction creative community, as well as a forum for shared insights that can help producers expand their businesses, and for discussion on our quickly changing media environment. We congratulate and welcome our new members, board and executive committee.”

About The Author
Barry Walsh is editor and content director for realscreen, and has served as editor of the publication since 2009. With a career in entertainment media that spans two decades, prior to realscreen, he held the associate editor post for now defunct sister publication Boards, which focused on the advertising and commercial production industries. Before Boards, he served as editor of Canadian Music Network, a weekly music industry trade, and as music editor for As content director, he also oversees the development of content for the brand's market-leading events, the Realscreen Summit and Realscreen West, as well as new content initiatives.