“Minding The Gap” takes top feature prize at IDA Doc Awards

Bing Liu’s Minding The Gap has taken the award in the best feature category at the 34th annual IDA Documentary Awards. Liu’s film compiles more than a decade of footage he shot in ...
December 10, 2018

Bing Liu’s Minding The Gap has taken the award in the best feature category at the 34th annual IDA Documentary Awards.

Liu’s film compiles more than a decade of footage he shot in his hometown of Rockford, Illinois, showing the director and his friends navigating new responsibilities with the coming of age and the forces that threaten to tear apart their long-standing friendships.

At the awards ceremony, held at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles on Saturday (Dec. 8), Liu also received the Emerging Filmmaker Award from director Barry Jenkins and Gordon Quinn, artistic director of Kartemquin Films.

Elsewhere, Floyd Russ took home the Best Short award for his film, Zion. The 12-minute doc offers an intimate portrait of wrestler Zion Clark, a young man with no legs who grew up in the foster care system. 

“In Minding the Gap we see the emergence of Bing Liu as a fresh, bold new voice in documentary. His film sneaks up on audiences and has a quiet and lasting power. Zion by Floyd Russ is a beautiful and touching work that does what documentaries can do better than any other form—give audiences intimate access into the experience of others, in a way that makes us better for it,” Simon Kilmurry, executive director of IDA, commented in a statement.

Additional winners included Netflix’s Wild Wild Country for best limited series; HBO’s John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls for the ABC News Video Source Award; and PBS’ ‘POV’ for best curated series.

Both Melissa Haizlip’s Mr. SOUL! and Steve Loveridge’s MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A. were each awarded in the best music documentary category. And The New York TimesCaliphate took home the award in the inaugural best audio documentary category.

The Career Achievement Award was presented to multiple Academy Award winner and co-founder of New Day Films, Julia Reichert. And IDA’s Courage Under Fire Award went to director Stephen Maing and the 12 NYPD whistleblowers featured in Crime + Punishment.

The complete list of winners is below.

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Feature Winner
Minding the Gap
Director/Producer: Bing Liu
Producer: Diane Quon

Best Short Winner
Director/Producer: Floyd Russ
Producer: Carter Collins

Series Winners

Best Curated Series Winner
POV/American Documentary
Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White

Best Episodic Series Winner
The Trade
Executive Producers: Matthew Heineman and Pagan Harleman

Best Limited Series Winner
Wild Wild Country
Directors: Chapman Way and Maclain Way
Producer: Juliana Lembi
Executive Producers: Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Josh Braun and Dan Braun

Best Short Form Series Winner
MEL Films
Executive Producer: David Freid

Best Music Documentary Winners
Director/Producer: Steve Loveridge.
Producers: Lori Cheatle, Paul Mezey and Andrew Goldman

Director/Producer: Melissa Haizlip.
Co-Director: Samuel D. Pollard

Best Audio Documentary Winner
The New York Times
Reporters: Rukmini Callimachi and Andy Mills.
Producers: Andy Mills, Larissa Anderson, Wendy Dorr and Asthaa Chaturvedi

Creative Recognition Awards

Best Cinematography
Distant Constellation
Cinematographer: Shevaun Mizrahi

Best Editing
Minding the Gap
Editors: Bing Liu and Joshua Altman

Best Writing
The Other Side of Everything
Writer: Mila Turajlić

Best Music Score
Bisbee ’17
Composer: Keegan DeWitt

Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Cinema Guild
Composers: Scott Alario, Forest Kelley and Alex Somers

Sponsored Special Awards

ABC News VideoSource Award Winner
John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls
Peter Kunhardt, George Kunhardt and Teddy Kunhardt

Pare Lorentz Award
The Silence of Others
Directors/Producers: Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar

Honorable Mention
The Distant Barking of Dogs
Director: Simon Lereng Wilmont
Producer: Monica Hellstrøm

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award Winner
National Film and Television School
Director: Jayisha Patel

About The Author