Extra: #CreateLouisiana fetes “Intention”; “Mediterranean Sea” swims to Belgium

Intention takes French Culture Film Grant ’19 French-language entertainment channel TV5Monde USA, in partnership with #CreateLouisiana, has named Syd Horn’s documentary feature film Intention as the recipient of the 2019 French Culture ...
July 12, 2019

Intention takes French Culture Film Grant ’19

French-language entertainment channel TV5Monde USA, in partnership with #CreateLouisiana, has named Syd Horn’s documentary feature film Intention as the recipient of the 2019 French Culture Film Grant.

The doc, about South Louisiana healers, US$30,000 grant after being selected by the French Culture Film Grant Committee from three finalists, including Stanley Thomas’ Le Boulanger and Todd Voltz’s Hunt for the Loup Garou. The selected film will premiere at the 2020 French Film Festival in partnership with the New Orleans Film Society – scheduled for February / March 2020 – in New Orleans.

Along with the cash prize, Horn’s Intention will be considered for broadcast across TV5Monde USA.

From three finalists, the French Culture Film Grant Committee selected a documentary about South Louisiana healers to receive the grant. The film tells the story of multiple women committed to intentional artistry, sharing their craft of divine healing, inspiring ascension within the community, all while preserving the cultural tradition. Intention is directed by Syd Horn and produced by Olivia Perillo.

Now in its third year, the TV5Monde USA-sponsored French Culture Film Grant program is designed to support new films that showcase both Francophone culture and the talents of Louisiana filmmakers.

RTBF swims in Prime’s Mediterranean Sea

French-speaking Belgian pubcaster RTBF has acquired the one-off documentary Mediterranean Sea (pictured) from global prodco and distributor Prime Entertainment Group.

The 1 x 52-minute documentary, shot in 4K, charters audiences on a voyage down the Mediterranean Sea where they’re provided a front row seat to never-before-seen natural treasures, including fish, corals and the scenery that lie beneath the ocean’s surface for us to preserve.

The film will broadcast across RTBF (Radio Télévision Belge) at a later date.

TLC reveals cast for event series Say Yes To The Dress: America

Discovery-owned cable net TLC’s new event series Say Yes to The Dress America has unveiled its 52 brides that will be featured throughout the 10-part series, which is slated to premiere in January 2020 and culminates in a two-hour wedding special.

Produced by Half Yard Productions, a Red Arrow Studios company, the wedding spectacular will feature one bride from every state across the country as they are given an all-expenses-paid trip to New York City, where they will be lavished with gifts and attention before heading off to a group wedding with all 52 couples at an iconic NYC location where bridal expert Randy Fenoli will officiate.

All couples to be featured in the series follow below:

Connecticut: Stephanie Loeb & Brent Martyniuk of New Haven
Delaware: Joanna Wicks & Steven Talmo of New Castle
District of Columbia: Jackie Chiao & Daniel Caley of Washington, D.C.
Maine: Brittany Dalrymple & Benjamin Brown of Eliot
Maryland: Bethany Tognocchi & Julie Lyst of Gaithersburg
Massachusetts: Casey Bellis & RJ Riddinger of Templeton
New Hampshire: Leishlany (Lany) Bonilla & Michael Melendez of Nashua
New Jersey: Gabriella Campisi & Anthony Naso of Toms River
New York: LoAles Cruz & Jordan Mercado of The Bronx
Pennsylvania: Cassandra Foley & Kellen Matthews-Thompson of Philadelphia
Rhode Island: Nikole Moutinho & Erivan (Branco) Dos Santos of Harrisville
Vermont: Emily Pilgrim & James Fisher of Burlington

Alabama: Kimberly Bailey & Dan McClellan of Birmingham
Arkansas: Shannon Hudson & Johan den Toom of Rogers
Florida: Shanese Crosson & Matthew Wallace of Tampa
Georgia: Katie & Aaron of Evans
Kentucky: Talana Young & Bronson Harris of Georgetown
Louisiana: Michaela Smith & Emmanuel Abodoh of Shreveport
Mississippi: Madelon Taylor & Jonathan Flippo of Louisville
North Carolina: Taylor Salama & Joseph Salama of Carthage
South Carolina: Morgan Williams & Jennifer Weaver of Greenville
Tennessee: Courtney Krueger & Bobby Scott of Cordova
Virginia: Nichelle Broner & Sheron Jones of Reston
West Virginia: Erin Looney & Scott Roberts of Lesage

Arizona: Lindsey Stegemoller & Benjamin Murphy of Phoenix
New Mexico: Lauren Boyes & Chad Drummond of Roswell
Oklahoma: Jaeden Cotton & Betty Blake of Oklahoma City
Texas: Helecia Williams & Nick Walker of Houston

Illinois: Kristina Burke & Tom Derrig of Joliet
Indiana: Sidney Fisher & Connor Vanover of New Paris
Iowa: Allison Boyer & Avery Jacobs of Burlington
Kansas: Cat Wurtz & Bradley Mills of Riley
Michigan: Lacy Galas & Miles Joyce of Rockford
Minnesota: Brittany Wenzel & Phil Reyerson of Minneapolis
Missouri: Jenn Halaz & Steve Coticchio of St. Louis
Nebraska: Erika Schwanke & Joshua Belle of La Vista
North Dakota: Roxy Familia-Veras & Jacob Friesz of Mandan
Ohio: Raquel Flanigan & Julius Brown of Toledo
South Dakota: Heidi Kronaizl & Austin Bushong of Brookings
Wisconsin: Emmy Seidling & David Adams of New Richmond

Alaska: Jenni Sottile & Luke Bell of Eagle River
California: Sky Pelham & Doug Le of Orange
Colorado: Sammie Jo Woodard & Andy Bleiler of Basalt
Hawaii: Rebecca Smith & Sean Ianno of Honolulu
Idaho: Miranda Folk & Masin Hawkins of Post Falls
Montana: Maggie Green & Curtis Amos, Jr. of Bozeman
Nevada: Jessica Wood & Christian Brady of Las Vegas
Oregon: Annelise Moss & Kevin Bretthauer of Hillsboro
Utah: Jesse Coleman & Kristopher James of Draper
Washington: Lena de Guzman & Geoffrey Kraabel of Pullman
Wyoming: Kelsey Padilla & Brian Robles of Gillette

Susan Palacios & Carlos Pagan of Ponce

About The Author