“American Factory”, “Apollo 11″ lead Cinema Eye Honors nominees

Todd Douglas Miller’s critically acclaimed Apollo 11 and Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert’s vérité film American Factory lead the non-fiction nominations for the 13th annual Cinema Eye Honors. The Cinema Eye ...
November 7, 2019

Todd Douglas Miller’s critically acclaimed Apollo 11 and Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert’s vérité film American Factory lead the non-fiction nominations for the 13th annual Cinema Eye Honors.

The Cinema Eye Honors celebrate outstanding artistry and craft in non-fiction film. The majority of this year’s honorees are nominated for the first time, and female filmmakers and craftspersons make up 40% of this year’s nominees.

Miller’s 93-minute Apollo 11 (pictured), which held its world premiere at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival, features never-before-seen, large-format film footage of mission commander Neil Armstrong and pilots Buzz Aldrin and Michael Collins’ 1969 moon landing. The doc was developed primarily from newly-discovered 70mm footage and more than 11,000 hours of audio recordings.

Bognar and Reichert’s 115-minute American Factory, meanwhile, looks at the opening of a General Motors factory in Ohio by a Chinese billionaire, and the culture clash that ensues as working-class America comes into contact with Chinese industry. The film also enjoyed its world premiere at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival, where it won the U.S. documentary directing award and was acquired by Netflix and Higher Ground Productions, the prodco founded by former President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama.

The two films have picked up five nominations each, with both being nominated for Non-Fiction Feature, Editing, Original Score, and Audience Choice Prize categories. Apollo 11 has additionally been nominated for the Production prize, while American Factory has been named in the Direction category.

Competing alongside Apollo 11 and American Factory in the Non-Fiction Feature category are Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watt’s Syrian drama, For Sama; Ljubomir Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska’s Honeyland, a portrait of a Macedonian beekeeper; Luke Lorentzen’s MidnightFamily, about a private ambulance service in Mexico City; and Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang’s One Child Nation, an investigation of China’s one-child policy.

Netflix, meanwhile, led all distributors and broadcasters with a total of 17 nominations, the most in Cinema Eye history, led by the five nominations for American Factory and three for Beyonce’s Homecoming.

Neon followed closely behind with 10 nominations stemming from Apollo 11, Honeyland and The Biggest Little Farm. HBO scored nine nominations for eight of its films and series led by two nominations for its controversial Michael Jackson investigation, Leaving Neverland.

These nominees join previously announced nominees in the broadcast and ‘Shorts List’ categories.

Winners will be announced at the 2020 Awards Ceremony taking place on Jan. 6, 2020 during Cinema Eye Week at the Museum of the Moving Image in New York.

The full list of nominees follows below:

Outstanding Non-fiction Feature

American Factory
Directed and Produced by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Produced by Jeff Reichert and Julie Parker Benello

Apollo 11
Directed and Produced by Todd Douglas Miller
Produced by Thomas Petersen and Evan Krauss

For Sama
Directed by Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts
Produced by Waad al-Kateab

Directed by Ljubomir Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska
Produced by Atanas Georgiev and Ljubomir Stefanov

Midnight Family
Directed and Produced by Luke Lorentzen
Produced by Kellen Quinn

One Child Nation
Directed and Produced by Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang
Produced by Christoph Jörg, Julie Goldman, Christopher Clements and Carolyn Hepburn

Outstanding Direction

American Factory
Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

The Cave
Feras Fayyad

Cold Case Hammarskjöld
Mads Brügger

Ljubomir Stefanov and Tamara Kotevska

The Hottest August
Brett Story

One Child Nation
Nanfu Wang and Jialing Zhang

Outstanding Editing

17 Blocks
Jennifer Tiexiera

American Factory
Lindsay Utz

Apollo 11
Todd Douglas Miller

Letter to the Editor
Alan Berliner

Mike Wallace is Here
Billy McMillin

Outstanding Production

Aimara Reques, Sigrid Dyekjær and Heino Deckert

Apollo 11
Todd Douglas Miller, Thomas Petersen and Evan Krauss

The Cave
Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjær

For Sama
Waad Al-Kateab

Midnight Family
Luke Lorentzen and Kellen Quinn

Midnight Traveler
Emelie Mahdavian and Su Kim

Outstanding Cinematography

Victor Kossokovsky

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
Nicholas De Pencier

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma

Midnight Family
Luke Lorentzen

What You Gonna Do When the World’s On Fire?
Diego Romero

Outstanding Original Score

American Factory
Chad Cannon

Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
Rose Bolton and Norah Lorway

Apollo 11
Matt Morton

Eicca Toppinen

Black Mother
4th Disciple

Symphony of the Ursus Factory
Dominik Strycharski

Outstanding Graphic Design or Animation

The Great Hack
Ash Thorp, Matthew Hornick and Patrick Cederberg

The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley
Hazel Baird

Moonlight Sonata: Deafness in Three Movements
Brian Kinkley and Ben Luce

Our Time Machine
Ryan Wehner

Outstanding Debut

The Disappearance of My Mother
Directed by Beniamino Barrese

Directed by Liza Mandelup

Scheme Birds
Directed by Ellen Fiske and Ellinor Hallin

Searching Eva
Directed by Pia Hellenthal

Swarm Season
Directed by Sarah Christman

Symphony of the Ursus Factory
Directed by Jasmina Wójcik

Outstanding Non-fiction Short

Directed by Isa Roa

Fast Horse
Directed by Alex Lazarowich

Ghosts of Sugar Land
Directed by Bassam Tariq

Lowland Kids
Directed by Sandra Winther

Stay Close
Directed by Luther Clement and Shuhan Fan

Subject to Review
Directed by Theo Anthony

Audience Choice Prize

17 Blocks
Directed by Davy Rothbart

The Amazing Johnathan Documentary
Directed by Ben Berman

American Factory
Directed by Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

Apollo 11
Directed by Todd Douglas Miller

Ask Dr. Ruth
Directed by Ryan White

The Biggest LIttle Farm
Directed by John Chester

The Cave
Directed by Feras Fayyad

For Sama
Directed by Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts

Knock Down the House
Directed by Rachel Lears

Directed by Alex Holmes


Always in Season
Directed by Jacqueline Olive

Bellingcat: Truth in a Post-Truth World
Directed by Hans Pool

Dark Suns
Directed by Julien Elie

Directed by Shengze Zhu

The Raft
Directed by Marcus Lindeen

About The Author