“Ai Weiwei,” “Bully,” “Interrupters” win at duPont-Columbia Awards

Yesterday's presentation of the awards, designed to highlight projects that reflect the highest standards of journalism, marked the first time theatrical doc releases were recognized. (Pictured: Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry)
December 20, 2012

Feature-length documentaries Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry, Bully and The Interrupters are among the winners of the 2013 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, designed to highlight projects that reflect the highest standards of journalism.

The awards were presented yesterday, with 14 silver batons handed out in total. The recognition of Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry and Bully marks the first time documentaries in theatrical release have won the awards.

Alison Klayman’s Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry was described by the awards team as “an intimate and compelling documentary about an extraordinary man on the cusp of history in China,” while Lee Hirsch’s Bully was called “a vivid portrait of what it is like to grow up as an underdog in America today,” and Steve James’ The Interrupters, which aired on PBS’ ‘Frontline’,¬†was heralded as “remarkable documentary journalism that explained urban violence and its causes, effects and solutions.”

Other projects awarded with silver batons included StoryCorps 9/11, a multi-platform collaboration between StoryCorps, PBS ‘POV’ and NPR; an episode of Current TV’s Vanguard series, “Arming the Mexican Cartel,” produced by Brent and Craig Renaud and featuring correspondent Christof Putzel; and another PBS ‘Frontline’ program, Opium Brides.

For a full list of winners, click here.

About The Author