“30 for 30,” “The Roosevelts” pick up PGA noms

Ken Burns-directed PBS series The Roosevelts (pictured) and the digital strand of ESPN's 30 for 30 series are among the latest batch of non-fiction nominees for the 26th annual Producers Guild Awards.
January 6, 2015

Ken Burns-directed PBS series The Roosevelts (pictured) and the digital strand of ESPN’s 30 for 30 series are among the latest batch of non-fiction nominees for the 26th annual Producers Guild Awards, with the latter picking up its second nomination.

Distributed by the Producers Guild of America (PGA) – which will present the awards at a ceremony in Los Angeles on January 24 – The Roosevelts is the only non-fiction nominee up for the David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television, though its eligible producers are yet to be determined.

Other nominees in the category – which includes both mini-series and movies of the week – include American Horror Story: Freak Show (FX), Fargo (FX), The Normal Heart (HBO) and Sherlock (PBS).

Meanwhile, the team behind the digital strand of ESPN’s 30 for 30 - which, as previously reported, picked up a nomination for outstanding producer of non-fiction television – has also been nominated for Outstanding Digital Series, alongside web series Video Game High School (season three) and Epic Rap Battles of History, National Geographic’s Cosmos: A National Geographic Deeper Dive, and’s Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.

The PGA announced its documentary and non-fiction television nominations in December, but has today (January 5) revealed the names of the producers nominated in each category (listed below):

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:

The Green Prince (Music Box Films)
Producers: John Battsek, Simon Chinn, Nadav Schirman

Life Itself (Magnolia Pictures)
Producers: Garrett Basch, Steve James, Zak Piper

Merchants of Doubt (Sony Pictures Classics)
Producers: Robert Kenner, Melissa Robledo

Particle Fever (Abramorama/BOND 360)
Producers: David E. Kaplan, Mark A. Levinson, Andrea Miller, Carla Solomon

Virunga  (Netflix)
Producers: Joanna Natasegara, Orlando von Einsiedel

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

30 for 30 (ESPN)
Producers: Andy Billman, John Dahl, Erin Leyden, Connor Schell, Bill Simmons

American Masters (PBS)
Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks, Junko Tsunashima

Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown (CNN)
Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey (Fox/Nat Geo)
Producers: Brannon Braga, Mitchell Cannold, Jason Clark, Ann Druyan, Livia Hanich, Steve Holtzman, Seth MacFarlane

Shark Tank (ABC)
Producers: Becky Blitz, Mark Burnett, Bill Gaudsmith, Phil Gurin, Yun Lingner, Clay Newbill, Jim Roush, Laura Roush, Max Swedlow

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:

The Amazing Race (CBS)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

Dancing with the Stars (ABC)
Producers: Ashley Edens Shaffer, Conrad GreenJoe Sungkur

Project Runway (Lifetime)
Producers: Jane Cha Cutler, Desiree Gruber, Tim Gunn, Heidi Klum, Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Teri Weideman

Top Chef (Bravo)
Producers: Doneen Arquines, Daniel Cutforth, Casey Kriley, Jane Lipsitz, Hillary Olsen, Erica Ross, Tara Siener, Shealan Spencer

The Voice (NBC)
Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John De Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment and Talk Television:

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

Jimmy Kimmel Live (ABC)
Producers: David Craig, Ken Crosby, Doug DeLuca, Gary Greenberg, Erin Irwin, Jimmy Kimmel, Jill Leiderman, Molly McNearney, Tony Romero, Jason Schrift, Jennifer Sharron, Seth Weidner, Josh Weintraub

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (HBO)
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

Real Time with Bill Maher (HBO)
Producers: Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Dean Johnsen, Bill Maher, Billy Martin, Matt Wood

The Tonight Show starring Jimmy Fallon (NBC)
Producers: Rob Crabbe, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Josh Lieb, Brian McDonald, Lorne Michaels, Gavin Purcell

About The Author