IDA Doc Awards to honor Kartemquin, Netflix execs

The International Documentary Association will honor Kartemquin Films' Gordon Quinn (pictured), Netflix's Ted Sarandos, The Bertha Foundation and Tony Tabatznik, and filmmakers Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe at the 31st IDA Documentary Awards.
October 15, 2015

The International Documentary Association (IDA) will honor Kartemquin Films’ founder and artistic director Gordon Quinn (pictured) and Netflix’s chief content officer Ted Sarandos at the 31st annual IDA Documentary Awards.

Quinn will be awarded with the career achievement award during the December 5 ceremony taking place in Los Angeles’ Paramount Theatre at Paramount Studios.

Quinn played an instrumental role in the creation of the Independent Television Service (ITVS) and the Documentary Filmmakers’ Statement of Best Practice in Fair Use, while also forming the Indie Caucus in an effort to support diverse independent voices on public TV.

In his 50-plus-year career, Quinn has produced and directed more than 55 films, including his 1966 debut Home for Life and the critically acclaimed Hoop Dreams. Past recipients of the award include Robert Redford, Barbara Kopple, Werner Herzog, Sheila Nevins, Errol Morris, and Michael Moore.

The IDA will also celebrate Netflix’s Sarandos, We Are the Giant producer Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation, and (T)ERROR directors Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe.

The Pioneer Award will be presented to Sarandos “in recognition of his leadership of the SVOD’s game-changing and unwavering support of creating and showcasing nonfiction programming.” Netflix has this year produced Liz GarbusWhat Happened, Miss Simone?and Evgeny Afineevsky‘s Winter on Fire.

Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation will be recognized with the Amicus Award for their work in supporting the vital needs of the non-fiction media landscape. The Bertha Foundation was founded in 2009 and aims to connect activists, lawyers and storytellers in the fight for fundamental, social and economic change.

Finally, (T)ERROR directors Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe will be the recipients of the Emerging Documentary Award, which acknowledges the achievements of a filmmaker who’s made a significant impact at the beginning of their documentary career. (T)ERROR received a grant from IDA’s Pare Lorentz Documentary Fund in 2013.

About The Author