“Look of Silence,” “Amy” score IDA award nominations

The Look of Silence (pictured), Amy and The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution are among the six feature docs nominated for this year's International Documentary Association Awards.
November 4, 2015

Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Look of Silence (pictured), Asif Kapadia’s Amy and Stanley Nelson’s The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution are among the nominees for the 2015 International Documentary Association (IDA) awards.

Stevan Riley’s Listen to Me Marlon, Chad Gracia’s The Russian Woodpecker and Liz GarbusWhat Happened Miss Simone? are also nominated in the 31st annual non-fiction filmmaking showcase’s feature film category.

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by comedian and Transparent star Tig Notaro – also the subject of the recent Netflix documentary Tig –and will take place on December 5 at the Paramount Theatre in Los Angeles.

The five short films nominated are David Darg’s Body Team 12, Adam Benzine’s Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah, Kitty Green’s The Face of Ukraine: Casting Oksana Baiul, Paulina Skibińska’s Object and Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman’s Last Day of Freedom.

Winners in both categories are voted on by IDA members. Other category winners are determined by screening committees in New York, Toronto, Sheffield, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Washington, DC.

Cartel Land director Matthew Heineman will receive this year’s Courage Under Fire Award, which recognizes bravery in pursuit of truth; and How to Change the World , directed by Jerry Rothwell, will receive the Pare Lorentz Award for exemplary filmmaking focused on the environment and social issues.

The IDA also hands out Creative Recognition Awards in various craft categories. This year, The Russian Woodpecker claimed the best cinematography prize, while Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck earned best editing, Best of Enemies won best music and Listen to Me Marlon went home with best writing.

The nominees for best series are ESPN’s ’30 For 30,’ ITVS and PBS doc strand ‘Independent Lens,’ PBS doc strand ‘POV,’ BBC doc strand ‘Storyville’ and World Channel’s ‘America ReFramed.’

Limited series nominated this year are Dutch network Vara Television’s Blood Brothers, Al Jazeera America’s Hard Earned, HBO’s The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst, Discovery Channel’s Life Story and Al Jazeera English’s Rebel Architecture.

In the episodic series category, Netflix’s Chef’s Table, CNN’s Morgan Spurlock Inside Man, PBS’ ‘NOVA,’ CNN’s The Seventies and CNN’s This is Life with Lisa Ling scored nods.

Finally, as previously reported, Kartemquin Films founder and artistic director Gordon Quinn will receive the Career Achievement Award and Tony Tabatznik and the Bertha Foundation will receive the IDA Amicus Award. Netflix chief Ted Sarandos will receive the Pioneer Award and (T)ERROR co-directors Lyric R. Cabral and David Felix Sutcliffe will share the Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

Visit for the full list of nominees.

About The Author