“Dina,” “Edith+Eddie” take IDA Doc Awards

Don Sickles and Antonio Santini’s Dina and Laura Checkoway’s Edith+Eddie took home top honors at the 33rd annual IDA Documentary Awards. Dina (pictured), which follows a Philadelphia-based autistic couple as they prepare for ...
December 10, 2017

Don Sickles and Antonio Santini’s Dina and Laura Checkoway’s Edith+Eddie took home top honors at the 33rd annual IDA Documentary Awards.

Dina (pictured), which follows a Philadelphia-based autistic couple as they prepare for their wedding, was awarded the Best Feature Award while Edith+Eddie, which follows America’s oldest interracial newlyweds, nabbed hardware for Best Short.

“The Best Feature and Best Short award winners both represent unlikely love stories, each one tender, tragic, and ultimately life-affirming,” said IDA executive director Simon Kilmurry, in a statement. “Dina and Edith+Eddie are both distinguished by their unforgettable lead characters and their sensitive elicitation of universal truths.”

For the first time, IDA’s Courage Under Fire award was given to a group of filmmaking teams and the films’ subjects. The award, which recognizes a filmmaker who demonstrates extraordinary courage in pursuit of the truth, was presented by Kathryn Bigelow to City of Ghosts, Cries From Syria, Hell on Earth: The Fall of Syria and the Rise of ISIS and Last Men in Aleppo.

Winning the ABC News VideoSource Award was Dan Lindsay and TJ Martin’s LA 92 , while Best Curated Series went to PBS’ long-running documentary strand ‘Independent Lens’.

Elsewhere, HBO’s The Defiant Ones took home Best Limited Series and The New York Times Op-Docs won Best Short Form Series.

The popular BBC series Planet Earth II was awarded Best Episodic Series, and Man on Fire from Joel Fenderman was given the David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

The Career Achievement Award was presented to Lourdes Portillo in recognition of Portillo’s nearly 40 years of work, with docs featuring Latin American, Mexican, and Chicano experiences and social justice issues.

Abigail Disney was given the IDA’s Amicus Award in recognition of her work in support of peacebuilding and advancing women’s roles in the public sphere, while Yance Ford, director of Strong Island, was awarded with the Emerging Filmmaker Award.

During the ceremony, IDA also announced a US$600,000 investment from the Jonathan Logan Family Foundation to support the International Documentary Association, including IDA’s Enterprise Documentary Fund and Getting Real ’18 filmmaker-to-filmmaker conference. As part of this initiative, the Jonathan Logan Family Foundation will provide four grants of $25,000 each to emerging women filmmakers of color.

The complete list of winners follows below:

Best Feature
Directors/Producers: Antonio Santini and Dan Sickles
The Orchard

Best Short
Director: Laura Checkoway
Producer: Thomas Lee Wright
Kartemquin Films

Creative Recognition Award Winners

Best Cinematography
Cinematography by: Rodrigo Trejo Villanueva
Kino Lorber

Best Editing
Dawson City: Frozen Time
Edited by: Bill Morrison
Kino Lorber

Best Music
Brimstone & Glory
Original Score by: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin
Oscilloscope Laboratories

Best Writing
Written by: Chico Pereira, Manuel Pereira and Gabriel Molera
Scottish Documentary Institute

Pare Lorentz Award
Watani: My Homeland (Recipient)
Director: Marcel Mettelsiefen

Intent to Destroy (Special Mention)
Director: Joe Berlinger

ABC News VideoSource Award
LA 92
Directors: Dan Lindsay & TJ Martin
National Geographic

Best Curated Series Award
Independent Lens
Executive Producers: Lois Vossen and Sally Jo Fifer

Best Limited Series
The Defiant Ones
Executive Producers: Allen Hughes, Doug Pray, Andrew Kosove, Broderick Johnson, Laura Lancaster, Jerry Longarzo, Michael Lombardo, and Gene Kirkwood

Best Episodic Series Award
Planet Earth II
Executive Producer: Michael Gunton

Best Short Form Series Award
The New York Times Op-Docs
Executive Producer: Kathleen Lingo
The New York Times

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award
Man on Fire
Director: Joel Fendelman
Producer: James Chase Sanchez
University of Texas, Austin

About The Author
Andrew Jeffrey joined Realscreen in 2021 as its news editor. Here, he helps to oversee assignment, reporting and editing for Realscreen's daily newsletter. Prior to his work covering documentary and non-fiction film and TV, he worked as a reporter and associate producer for CBC Edmonton, and as a reporter for The Star Calgary, where he covered daily news on beats such as local and provincial politics, health care and harm reduction, sports and education. His work has appeared in other Canadian news outlets such as TVO, the Edmonton Journal and Avenue Magazine.