NATPE to honor Jon Murray, Ted Sarandos

The chairman of Bunim/Murray Productions (pictured at his 2011 Realscreen Awards Hall of Fame induction) and the chief content officer of Netflix will be two of six individuals to receive the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award at the Miami-based confab in January.
October 7, 2014

Jonathan Murray, chairman of Bunim/Murray Productions (pictured), and Netflix chief content officer Ted Sarandos will be two of six recipients of the Brandon Tartikoff Legacy Award, to be presented during the NATPE/Content First conference in Miami on January 21.

Murray, widely credited to be the inventor of the modern reality television genre and co-creator of the long-running MTV series The Real World, has previously been inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame in 2012, and the Realscreen Awards Hall of Fame in 2011. Bunim/Murray is also behind such reality hits as the Keeping Up With the Kardashians franchise and Project Runway.

Sarandos has led content acquisition for on-demand subscription service Netflix since 2000, and most recently made headlines by announcing two major deals putting the service even more firmly in the arena of content creation and distribution: a partnership with IMAX to release a sequel to Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; and a deal that has Adam Sandler signed on to produce and star in four movies for the company, which will debut exclusively on Netflix.

Other honorees for the upcoming edition of the awards presentation, named after television programmer Brandon Tartikoff, include former Tonight Show host Jay Leno; Entertainment Tonight exec producer Linda Bell Blue; and Gustavo A. Cisneros and daughter Adriana Cisneros, chairman and CEO/vice chairman of Cisneros, respectively.

The awards will be presented by comedian and late-night chat show host Craig Ferguson at the Fontainebleau Resort in Miami Beach on January 21. The upcoming edition of NATPE/Content First takes place from January 20-22.

About The Author
Managing editor with realscreen publication, an international print and online magazine that covers the non-fiction film and television industries. Darah is an award-winning journalist who has spent over two decades covering a wide range of issues from real estate and urban development to immigration, politics and human rights, primarily with The Vancouver Sun. Prior to joining realscreen, she was editor of Stream Daily, realscreen's sister publication covering the dynamic global digital video industry. She also served a stint as a war reporter in Afghanistan for television and print, and was a national business blogger with Yahoo Canada.