Canadian Screen Awards, Thessaloniki hand out non-fiction prizes

Catherine Bainbridge and Alfonso Maiorana‘s Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World were among the non-fiction winners during the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards’ broadcast gala on Sunday (March 11). Produced by Montreal’s Rezolution ...
March 12, 2018

Catherine Bainbridge and Alfonso Maiorana‘s Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World were among the non-fiction winners during the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards’ broadcast gala on Sunday (March 11).

Produced by Montreal’s Rezolution Pictures, Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World snagged a trio of prizes. The feature-length doc, which charts the role of Native Americans in popular music history, won the Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary, as well as best cinematography in a feature doc (Alfonso Maiorana) and best editing in a feature doc (Benjamin Duffield, Jeremiah Hayes).

The prize for best short doc went to Lifted Eyes Media’s Take a Walk on The Wildside, while CBC’s The Secret Path won the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program and CTV’s The Amazing Race Canada (Insight Productions) won the prize for Best Reality/Competition Program or Series.

Over in Greece, the Thessaloniki International Film Festival unveiled its top winners for its 20th annual event.

The Greece-set festival – which ran from March 2 to 11 – honored the Golden Alexander award for Best Documentary in international competition to Simon Lereng Wilmont’s The Distant Barking of Dogs (pictured), which follows one year in the life of a 10-year-old Eastern Ukrainian boy as war erodes his innocence. The honor is accompanied by a US$9,850 (€8,000) cash prize.

The Special Jury Award in the international competition section for a film over 50 minutes, meanwhile, was shared between Juliana Antunes’s Baronesa and Gürcan Keltek’s Meteors.

The Distant Barking of Dogs also picked up the Human Values Award, which fetes the best film in the international competition section, and the Fipresci Award for an international film.

Taking the corresponding Fipresci Award for best Greek film was Menios Karayannis’ Marble Homeland.

The Peter Wintonick Audience Award, given to a film more than 50 minutes in length in the international section, was presented to Talal Derki’s Of Fathers and Sons, in which the director gains access to a radical Islamist family in his homeland and shares their daily life over two years.

The Audience Award for a film under 50 minutes in the international section went toThe Last Honey Hunter by Ben Knight. The Audience Award for a Greek film over 50 minutes was handed out to Stratis Chatzielenoudas’Back to the Top while the corresponding award for a Greek film under 50 minutes went toDimitris Stamatis & Ioanna Neofytou’s Painting….

The ERT Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation award – for the Greek film over 50 minutes that wins the Fischer Audience Award – was bestowed upon Chatzielenoudas forBack to the Top.

The Amnesty International Award, given to the best film exploring human rights issues, went to Ovidie’s Everything’s Better than a Hooker, with a special mention presented toRina Castelnuovo and Tamir Elterman’s Muhi: Generally Temporary.

The WWF Award, which is given to the best film in the Habitat section, was presented to Julia Dahr‘s Thank You for the Rain, while the Greek Film Critics Association Award went to Eleni Alexandraki’s Kostis Papagiorgis: The Sweetest Misanthrope.

The Docs in Progress Awards, meanwhile, were given to Marianna Economou’s Seeds of Columbus with an accompanying US$18,500 (€15,000) prize for post-production services, and to Atieh Attarzadeh and Hesam Eslami’s Staring at the Sun, with US$8,000 (€6,500) in music and sound services prizes. Special mention went to Marija Stonyte’sGentle Warriors.

Winning the Virtual Reality Films competition were Shehani Fernando’s Limbo and Anke Teunissen & Jessie van Vreden’s The Last Chair 1&2, both of which took home a US$3,700 (€3,000) prize.

Meanwhile, the Greek Film Centre awards for a debut documentary with an over 50 minute run time and for a film participating in the TDF Doc Market’s Docs in Progress section went to Christos Kapatos’Antonis’ Voice and Dina Naser-Jordan’s Tiny Souls, respectively.

Finally, the EDN Doc on Air prize – bestowed to the best project of the Pitching Forum for international co-productions – was awarded to Michael Niermann’s Riders of Destiny.

About The Author
Senior staff writer Frederick Blichert comes to realscreen with a background as a journalist and freelance film critic. He has previously written for VICE, Paste Magazine, Senses of Cinema, Xtra, Canadian Cinematographer and elsewhere. He holds a Master of Arts in film studies from Carleton University and a Master of Journalism from the University of British Columbia.