IDA names winners of Creative Recognition Awards

The International Documentary Association has named Senna (pictured), Il Castello and Better this World as recipients of its new creative achievement awards, to be bestowed on December 2.
November 18, 2011

The International Documentary Association has named Senna (pictured), Il Castello and Better this World as recipients of its new creative achievement awards.

The 27th annual IDA Documentary Awards, held in Los Angeles at the Director’s Guild on December 2, is launching the Creative Recognition Awards to acknowledge cinematography, editing, and music in documentary feature films.

At the upcoming awards presentation, Il Castello, from director and cinematographer Massimo D’Anolfi, will pick up the honor for best cinematography, while the best editing award is going to Senna, edited by Chris King and Gregers Sall, and directed by Asif Kapadia. Lastly, Better This World‘s original music from Paul Brill will be acknowledged with the best music honor. Better This World is directed by Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega, and is also up for the IDA award for best feature.

The hosts for the evening will be Josh Fox, whose work includes Gasland and Memorial Day; and Tiffany Shlain, whose newest doc is Connected: An Autoblogography about Love, Death and Technology. Shlain is also the founder of the Webby Awards and co-founder of The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences. The third host is filmmaker Eddie Schmidt, also the board president of the IDA and producer of docs including This Film is Not Yet Rated and Twist of Faith.

Music for the evening will be provided by Waste Land director Lucy Walker, who will serve as DJ. Her latest work is the short doc The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom.

The winners for feature, short, limited series awards and more will be revealed at a later date. The nominees can be seen here.

About The Author
Daniele Alcinii is a news editor at realscreen, the leading international publisher of non-fiction film and television industry news and content. He joined the RS team in 2015 with experience in journalism following a stint out west with Sun Media in Edmonton's Capital Region, and with communications work in Melbourne, Australia and Toronto. You can follow him on Twitter at @danielealcinii.