CTV takes “The Taste”

CTV will debut ABC's version of the culinary competition series featuring judges Anthony Bourdain and Nigella Lawson with a two-part premiere on January 22 and January 27.
January 9, 2013

Bell Media’s CTV has acquired the Canadian broadcast rights to ABC’s culinary competition series The Taste.

The news was announced Wednesday (January 9) during the Television Critics Association tour. The series will debut on CTV with a two-part premiere on January 22 at 8 p.m. and January 27 at 9 p.m., before settling into its regular timeslot on Tuesdays at 8 p.m starting January 29.

The Taste is a great twist on the traditional culinary series. That combined with the stellar casting and the concept is going to help satisfy Canadians’ ever-growing appetite for food-centric programming,” said CTV senior VP of programming Mike Cosentino in a statement.

The Taste features chefs and food experts Anthony Bourdain and Nigella Lawson heading a panel of judges who oversee 16 professional and amateur cooks competing for the title of best tasting dish.

The expert judging panel, which also includes chef and author Ludo Lefebvre and restaurateur Brian Malarkey, will coach teams of four competitors through a variety of team and individual challenges and elimination rounds. CTV will air ABC’s nine-episode series order.

The Taste is created by Santa-Monica-based Kinetic Content, Red Arrow Entertainment Group’s U.S. production company. The series is executive produced by Chris Coelen, Matila Zoltowski, Emma Conway, Bourdain and Lawson.

The series has been sold to Fox in India, M6 in France, and Australia’s Nine Network. Nine Network at MIPCOM in October announced that it had picked up rights to the series, for both a local remake and the U.S. version. And Prime Television in New Zealand in December also picked up broadcasting rights to ABC’s version.

Photo: The Taste mentors  Anthony Bourdain, Brian Malarkey, Nigella Lawson, and Ludovic Lefebvre

About The Author
Daniele Alcinii is a news editor at realscreen, the leading international publisher of non-fiction film and television industry news and content. He joined the RS team in 2015 with experience in journalism following a stint out west with Sun Media in Edmonton's Capital Region, and with communications work in Melbourne, Australia and Toronto. You can follow him on Twitter at @danielealcinii.