CIFF ’15: “Frame by Frame,” “Enemies” take prizes

Alexandria Bombach and Mo Scarpelli's Frame by Frame (pictured) and Morgan Neville's Best of Enemies took home Best Documentary Feature and the Audience Award, respectively, at the Camden International Film Festival.
September 23, 2015

Alexandria Bombach and Mo Scarpelli’s Frame by Frame (pictured) and Morgan Neville’s Best of Enemies took home Best Documentary Feature and the Audience Award, respectively, at the Camden International Film Festival.

The 11th edition of the Maine-based festival ran from September 17 to 20, screening 60 feature docs and shorts from around the world. An awards ceremony on closing night, prior to a screening of Avi Lewis’ This Changes Everything, saw prizes presented to four documentary features, a doc short and the Points North Pitch winner, as well as three grants awarded through a partnership with the Conservation Media Group.

The 2015 Harrell Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Bombach and Scarpelli’s Frame by Frame, which follows a group of renowned Afghan photojournalists. Meanwhile, a Special Jury Mention was given to Alexandre Nanau’s Toto and His Sisters, on three young Romanian siblings trying to keep the family together while their mother serves a prison sentence.

This year’s feature doc jury was comprised of SXSW’s Janet Pierson, Let the Fire Burn director Jason Osder and The Guardian’s Charlie Phillips.

Meanwhile, the Emerging Cinematic Vision Award was presented to Anna Roussillon’s I Am the People (Je Suis Le Peuple), with a Special Jury Mention going to Morgan Knibbe’s Those Who Feel the Fire Burning. Jurors for the prize were Western director Turner Ross, Film Comment‘s Eric Hynes and RIDM’s Charlotte Selb.

Roussillon’s film also picked up the newly instated John Marshall Award for Contemporary Ethnographic Media.

Rounding out the feature doc prizes was Morgan Neville’s Best of Enemies, which claimed the Audience Award.

Elsewhere, the Camden Cartel Award for Best Short was given to Paulina Skibinska’s Object, with a Special Jury Mention for Eleanor Mortimer’s Territory. As previously reported, the winner of the 2015 Points North Pitch Award and Modulus Finishing Fund was Jeff Unay’s Greywater.

Finally, following a new partnership between CIFF and the Conservation Media Group for the CMG Action Grant Pitch – which supports filmmakers using video to “create measurable action in ocean conservation or sustainable energy” – grants have been awarded to Shalina Kantayya’s Suncatcher (US$10,000), Razan Ghalayini’s Pick It Up! ($6,000) and Tierney Thys and Noe Sardet’s A Tale of Plastic ($10,000).

About The Author
Jillian Morgan is the Associate Editor at Realscreen with a background in journalism and digital marketing. She joined the publication in 2019 after serving as the assistant editor to trade publications HPAC and On-Site. With a bachelor of journalism from the University of King's College in Halifax, she also works as a freelance writer and fact-checker.