PGA Awards to honor “The Hunting Ground”

The Producers Guild of America will honor Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering's feature documentary The Hunting Ground (pictured) at the 27th annual Producers Guild Awards.
December 17, 2015

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) will honor Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering‘s feature documentary The Hunting Ground (pictured) at the 27th annual Producers Guild Awards.

Dick and Ziering will be presented with the Stanley Kramer Award for their examination of rape culture on American university campuses during a January 23 ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

The award aims to celebrate a production, producer or other individual whose project “raises public awareness of important social issues.” 

The award is determined by a seven-person committee appointed by the PGA’s board of directors, and operates independently from the Producers Guild Awards committee and PGA staff.

Previous recipients of the Stanley Kramer Award have included Davis Guggenheim‘s An Inconvenient Truth and Lee Hirsch’s Bully, as well as scripted films Hotel Rwanda, Antwone Fisher, Fruitvale Station and last year’s recipient, The Normal Heart.

“This powerful documentary gives a voice to the victims of student sexual assault – a national problem too-long clouded in secrecy and shielded from public attention,” said Producers Guild Awards co-chairs Michael De Luca and Jennifer Todd in a statement. “The visceral reaction this film evokes has mobilized audiences worldwide to take action, and has served as a focal point in campus discussions and in revising institutional policies.”

About The Author
Daniele Alcinii is a news editor at realscreen, the leading international publisher of non-fiction film and television industry news and content. He joined the RS team in 2015 with experience in journalism following a stint out west with Sun Media in Edmonton's Capital Region, and with communications work in Melbourne, Australia and Toronto. You can follow him on Twitter at @danielealcinii.