“Cameraperson” takes three at Cinema Eye Honors

Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson, a global memoir of archival footage,took home three awards at the 10th Annual Cinema Eye Honors, held on Wednesday (Jan. 11). The film (pictured), which premiered at the ...
January 12, 2017

Kirsten Johnson’s Cameraperson, a global memoir of archival footage,took home three awards at the 10th Annual Cinema Eye Honors, held on Wednesday (Jan. 11).

The film (pictured), which premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival, finds the cinematographer turning the lens on herself and her work over the years for such directors as Laura Poitras and Michael Moore. The 102-minute documentary was feted with three awards, including Outstanding Cinematography for Johnson, Outstanding Editing for Nels Bangerter and Outstanding Nonfiction Feature for Johnson and producer Marilyn Ness.

ESPN’s awards-favorite documentary O.J.: Made in America from director Ezra Edelman was recognized in two categories, receiving awards for Outstanding Direction for Edelman and Outstanding Production for Edelman and Caroline Waterlow.

The Audience Choice Prize, voted on by more than 13,000 members of the public, was awarded to Clay Tweel’s Gleason, while Keith Maitland‘s animated doc Tower picked up the Outstanding Graphic Design & Animation award.

Elsewhere, Nanfu Wang‘s Hooligan Sparrow, which premiered on PBS doc strand ‘POV’ in October, won the Outstanding Debut Feature prize; Netflix’s acclaimed docuseries Making a Murderer from Moira Demos and Laura Ricciardi took home the Outstanding Nonfiction Filmmaking for Television award; Aaron Schock received the Short Film Award for La Laguna; and Estephan Wagner and Moritz Siebert received the Spotlight Award for Those Who Jump.

Michal Marczak’s Sundance-winning documentary All These Sleepless Nights, which chronicles two Warsaw youth experiencing life to the fullest, received the Heterodox Award for films that blur the line between fiction and nonfiction.

Rob Epstein, meanwhile, was presented with the Legacy Award for his landmark classic, The Times of Harvey Milk.

Founded in 2007, the Cinema Eye organization recognizes the entire creative team behind a documentary, and presents craft awards in categories including directing, producing, cinematography and editing, among others. Nominees for the group’s feature awards are determined by a committee of international documentary programmers.

The full list of awards winners follows below:

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
Directed by Kirsten Johnson
Produced by Marilyn Ness

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Ezra Edelman
OJ: Made in America

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Nels Bangerter

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow
OJ: Made in America

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Kirsten Johnson

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
David Byrne, LeeAnn Rossi and Aaron Rosenblum
Contemporary Color

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Keith Maitland and Craig Staggs

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
Hooligan Sparrow
Directed by Nanfu Wang

Audience Choice Prize
Directed by Clay Tweel

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Films Made for Television
Making a Murderer
Directed and Produced by Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos
For Netflix: Adam Del Deo and Lisa Nishimura

Spotlight Award
Those Who Jump
Directed by Moritz Siebert and Estephan Wagner

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
La Laguna
Directed by Aaron Schock

Heterodox Award
All These Sleepless Nights
Directed by Michal Marczak

Legacy Award
The Times of Harvey Milk
Directed by Rob Epstein

About The Author