“City of Ghosts,” “DRIB” to compete at CPH:DOX

Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts and Kristoffer Borgli‘s DRIB are among the films nominated across four festival competitions at this year’s CPH:DOX. The competition program at the Copenhagen-based documentary film festival, which runs ...
February 22, 2017

Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts and Kristoffer Borgli‘s DRIB are among the films nominated across four festival competitions at this year’s CPH:DOX.

The competition program at the Copenhagen-based documentary film festival, which runs March 16 to 26, will screen 59 films from across the globe, including 41 world premieres, 15 international premieres and NEXT:WAVE, a new competition for emerging talents.

The new competition, launched by CPH:DOX and Normann Copenhagen, is dedicated to spotlighting emerging international filmmakers who have the courage to take chances and stand out on the international film scene. The inaugural competition includes feature-length and short films, including eight world premieres. The winner will be selected by an international panel of industry professionals and receives €2,000 (US$2,100).

Elsewhere, 13 films have been selected for the DOX:AWARD, the Danish film festival’s main competition. The nominated films consist of seven world premieres, four international premieres and two European premieres, and include Matthew Heineman’s City of Ghosts, a portrait of the reporters from Raqqa, Syria being silently slaughtered; David Redmon and Ashley Sabin’s Willem Dafoe-narrated Do Donkeys Act?; Austin Lynch and Matthew Booth’s Gray House, documenting the American working class in five settings; Kristoffer Borgli’s DRIB (pictured), documenting a Norwegian stunt-man’s fake stunts that send him to LA to become the face of an energy drink campaign; and Feras Fayyad and Steen Johannessen’s opening film The Last Men in Aleppo.

Investigative documentary award F:ACT will see 11 films vying for top honors, including six world premieres and four international premieres. Competing films include Joakim Demmers’ Dead Donkeys Fear No Hyenas,an exposé about the fight for land in Ethiopia; John Archer and Clara Glynn’s Accidental Anarchist, chronicling a British diplomat’s transformation into an anarchist; and Anniken Hoel’s Cause of Death: Unknown, which explores the pharmaceutical industry’s dark underbelly.

Thirteen films will compete in the NORDIC:DOX category, a competition dedicated to the highlighting Nordic films. Among the premieres are Eva Mulvad’s A Modern Man; Julia Dahr‘s Thank You for the Rain; Egil Håskjold Larsen’s 69 Minutes of 86 Days; and Margreth Olin’s Childhood.

Finally, another 13 world premieres have been nominated in the artistic experiment competition NEW:VISION. The selection includes Lee Anne Schmitt’s Purge This Land; Danish artist group Superflex’s The Mærsk Opera; and Ben Rivers’ Ruth.

The winners of DOX:AWARD, NORDIC:DOX, F:ACT Award and NEW:VISION Award will receive €5,000 (US$5,300) and will be announced on March 24 at the festival’s awards ceremony at Kunsthal Charlottenborg in Copenhagen.

All nominees in competition at the 14th annual Copenhagen International Documentary Festivalare listed below:

What Young Men Do, Jon Haukeland (Norway). International Premiere.
Stranger in Paradise, Guido Hendrikx (The Netherlands). International Premiere.
Do Donkeys Act? David Redmon, Ashley Sabin (United Kingdom, Canada, Ireland, USA). World Premiere.
Craigslist Allstars, Samira Elagoz (Finland, The Netherlands). International Premiere.
Obscure, Soudade Kaadan (Syria, Lebanon). World Premiere.
DRIB, Kristoffer Borgli (Norway). European Premiere.
The Third Option, Thomas Fürhapter (Austria). World Premiere.
The John Dalli Mystery, Jeppe Rønde (Denmark, Norway). World Premiere.
Last Men in Aleppo, Feras Fayyad. Co-director Steen Johannessen (Denmark, Syria, Germany). European Premiere.
City of Ghosts, Matthew Heineman (U.S.). International Premiere.
Rage, Dominique Lohlé & Guy-Marc Hinant (Belgium, France). World Premiere.
…When You Look Away, Phie Ambo (Denmark). World Premiere.
Gray House, Austin Lynch & Matthew Booth (U.S.). World Premiere.

Accidental Anarchist, John Archer & Clara Glynn (UK). World premiere.
Cause of Death: Unknown, Anniken Hoel (Norway). World premiere.
Dead Donkeys Fear No Hyenas, Joakim Demmer (Sweden). World premiere.
Radio Kobanï, Reber Dosky (The Netherlands). International Premiere.
The Unforgiven, Lars Feldballe-Petersen (Denmark). World premiere.
Return of a President, Lotte Mik-Meyer (Denmark). World premiere.
The New Radical, Adam Bhala Lough (U.S.). International premiere.
Vape Wave, Jan Kounen (Switzerland). International premiere.
The Force, Pete Nicks (U.S.). International premiere.
The Devil’s Trap, Mitchell Stafiej (Canada). World premiere.
Trophy, Shaul Scwarz (U.S.). International premiere.

Waiting for the Sun, Kaspar Astrup Schröder (Denmark). World Premiere.
Lida, Anna Eborn (Denmark, Sweden). World premiere.
The Hotel, Kristian Petri (Sweden). International premiere.
Shapeshifters, Sophie Vukovic (Sweden). International premiere.
69 Minutes of 86 Days, Egil Håskjold Larsen (Norway). World premiere.
Thank You for the Rain, Julia Dahr (Norway). World premiere.
The Strangest Stranger, Magnus Bärtås (Sweden). World premiere.
Childhood, Margreth Olin (Norway). International premiere.
On the Edge of Freedom, Anita Mathal Hopland & Jens Lengerke (Denmark). World premiere.
Stay Behind – My Grandfather’s Secret War, Ida Grøn (Denmark). World premiere.
Land of the Free, Camilla Magid (Denmark). World premiere.
My Mother is Pink, Cecilie Debell (Denmark). World premiere.
A Modern Man, Sigrid Dyekjær (Denmark). World premiere.

Common Carrier, James Kienitz Wilkins (U.S.). World premiere.
Purge This Land, Lee Anne Schmitt (U.S.). World premiere.
Life Imitation, Zhou Chen (CN). World premiere.
The Mærsk Opera, SUPERFLEX SUPERFLEX (DK). World Premiere.
Xenoi, Deborah Stratman (U.S., GR). World premiere.
Desert of the Real, Christian von Borries (DE). World premiere.
Urth, Ben Rivers (UK). World premiere.
The Flying Proletarian, Phillip Warnell (UK). World premiere.
Maybe This Act, This Work, This Thing; Joachim Koester (DK, BE, UK). World premiere.
The Haunted, Saodat Ismailova (NO, UZ). World premiere.
The Lost Dreams of Naoki Hayakawa, Ane Hjort Guttu & Daisuke Kosugi (NO). World premiere.
No Trace of Accelerator, Emily Wardill (PT, NO). World premiere.
Nosferatu, John Skoog (SE). World premiere.

1996 Lucy and the Corpses in the Pool,Marcos Migliavacca & Nahuel Lahora(AR). World premiere.
Janbal, Mina Bozorgmehr & Hadi Kamali Moghadam (IR). World premiere.
You Are Still Somebody’s Someone, Esther Wellejus (DK). World premiere.
I Promise You Never to Come Back, Pepe Gutiérrez (MX). International premiere.
A Variety of Shows for Various Events, Part I; Daniela Delgado Viteri (EC, FR). International premiere.
Phantom of Illumination, Wattanapume Laisuwanchai (TH). World premiere.
Next Sommer, Alexander Lind (DK). World premiere.
Spin, Ginan Seidl (DE). International premiere.
Tarrafal, Pedro Neves (PO), International Premiere.


About The Author
Jillian Morgan is a special reports editor at realscreen with a background in journalism and digital marketing. She joined the publication in 2019 after serving as the assistant editor to trade publications HPAC and On-Site. With a bachelor of journalism from the University of King's College in Halifax, she also works as a freelance writer and fact-checker.