MIPCOM names Fox execs Personalities of the Year

Fox Television Group chiefs Gary Newman (pictured, left) and Dana Walden (right) have been jointly named MIPCOM 2015 Personalities of the Year, marking the first time two industry leaders have shared the title.
May 29, 2015

The chiefs of Fox Television Group, Gary Newman (pictured, left) and Dana Walden (pictured, right), have been jointly named MIPCOM 2015 Personalities of the Year.

The accolade marks the first time since the award’s inception 26 years ago that two industry leaders have shared the title. Past recipients include Simon Cowell, Jeffery Katzenberg, Emilio Azcarraga Jean and Anne Sweeney.

Newman and Walden were named presidents of 20th Century Fox in 1999, and later tapped as chairmen and CEOs in 2014.

“Dana Walden and Gary Newman form an inspirational leadership team in the entertainment sector, having propelled Fox to global success through the quality of its creative programming, built largely on their unique relationships with top talent,” said Paul Zilk, CEO of Reed MIDEM, organizer of MIPCOM.

The Fox executives will be honored at a gala dinner on October 7 in Cannes.

MIPCOM will run from October 5-8 in Cannes.

About The Author
Meagan Kashty is an associate editor of realscreen, an international print and online magazine that covers the non-fiction film and television industries. Meagan is an award-winning business journalist. Prior to joining the realscreen team, Meagan was online editor of Canadian Grocer, named Magazine of the Year at the 2015 Canadian Business Media Awards. She can be reached at, and you can follow her on Twitter @MegKashty