Oscars ’16: “Hunting,” “Meru” songs make shortlist

Songs from Kirby Dick's The Hunting Ground (pictured) and Ben Patterson's Sweet Micky for President are among the 74 original songs contending for Academy Award nominations.
December 14, 2015

Songs from Kirby Dick’s The Hunting Ground and Ben Patterson’s Sweet Micky for President are among the 74 original songs contending for Academy Award nominations.

The shortlisted non-fiction song contenders, revealed by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences on Friday (December 11), include “Brother” from Godspeed: The Story of Page Jones; “Til It Happens To You” from The Hunting Ground; “The Movie About Us” from Ingrid Bergman – In Her Own Words; “The Light That Never Fails” from Meru; “Birds of a Feather” from Poached; “Manta Ray” from Racing Extinction; and “Came to Win” from Sweet Micky for President.

According to the Academy, all voting members of the music branch are to receive a list of works submitted in the category and a DVD of the song clips. Members then vote in the order of their preference “for not more than five achievements in the category.”

The five songs to get the highest number of votes will make up the nominations for final voting for the award. A film may have a maximum of two Oscar-nominated songs.

In order to meet eligibility requirements, the Academy outlines that a song must have words and music, “both of which are original and written specifically for the film.”

For a complete list of shortlisted songs, please visit the Oscars’ official website.

Oscar nominations will be announced in Los Angeles on January 14 at 8:30 a.m. EST. The televised ceremony will air on February 28 at 7 p.m. EST.

About The Author
Selina Chignall joins the realscreen team as a staff writer. Prior to working with rs, she covered lobbying activity at Hill Times Publishing. She also spent a year covering the Hill as a journalist with iPolitics. Her beat focused on youth, education, democratic reform, innovation and infrastructure. She holds a Master of Arts in Journalism from Western University and a Honours Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto.